College Hockey:
Minnesota-Duluth Favored to Win Women’s WCHA

Defending national champion Minnesota-Duluth is the pick of WCHA coaches to win the women’s league title in 2010-11.

The Bulldogs, who tied Minnesota for last year’s regular-season title, claimed six of eight first-place votes from the coaches, who could not vote for their own team.

Wisconsin got the other two first-place votes and came in second in the poll, followed by Minnesota.

The full poll follows:

Team (first-place votes)  Points
1. Minnesota-Duluth (6) 48
2. Wisconsin (2) 43
3. Minnesota 37
4. Ohio State 30
5. North Dakota 27
6. Bemidji State 17
7. St. Cloud State 13
8. Minnesota State 9

Wisconsin forward Hilary Knight, returning from a year off to play with the U.S. women’s Olympic team, was the pick of seven of eight coaches as preseason player of the year.

Minnesota forward Amanda Kessel got six of the eight votes for the league’s preseason rookie of the year.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management