College Hockey:
Candidates announced for Senior CLASS Award

A total of 20 NCAA men’s ice hockey student-athletes who excel both on and off the ice have been selected as candidates today for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in hockey.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must have achievements in four areas of excellence community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced at the Frozen Four in April.

Almost half the candidates have a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Three were All-Americans last season and one was an Academic All-American last year.

The 20 nomineeswill be narrowed to 10 midway through the regular season. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist.

“This years group of hockey candidates has really distinguished itself with its outstanding work in the classroom,” said Tom Lamb, Lowe’s senior vice president of marketing. “As these student-athletes close out their collegiate careers, they will no doubt be prepared for the next chapter in their lives whether it is further study or work in the public or private sector.”

2010-11 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award Hockey Candidates

Jay Barriball, Forward, Minnesota
Chris Barton, Forward, Merrimack
Stephane Boileau, Forward, Union
Carter Camper, Forward, Miami
Cory Conacher, Forward, Canisius
Paul Dainton, Goaltender, Massachusetts
Jeff Dimmen, Defense, Maine
Chay Genoway, Defense, North Dakota
Carl Hagelin, Forward, Michigan
Tanner House, Forward, Maine
Chris Kushneriuk, Forward, Robert Morris
Jacques Lamoureux, Forward, Air Force
Broc Little, Forward, Yale
Bryant Molle, Defense, Alaska
Kyle Ostrow, Forward, Denver
Chase Polacek, Forward, Rensselaer
Matt Read, Forward, Bemidji State
Zach Redmond, Defense, Ferris State
Calle Ridderwall, Left Wing, Notre Dame
Evan Stephens, Defense, Dartmouth

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

  • http://www.buhockeyblog.blogspot.com Matt Dresens

    Joe Pereira, Bost University? somethings missing. he might be the hardest working forward in Hockey East

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management