College Hockey:
Future D-I collegians named to U.S. Junior Select Team

Of the 22 United States Hockey League players named Monday to the U.S. Junior Select Team that will compete at the World Junior A Challenge next month, a total of21 already have a college commitment in place.

This year’s event will run Nov. 8-14 in Penticton, British Columbia and will include teams from Russia, Sweden, Switzerland and the United States and two teams from Canada (East and West).

Goaltenders: Casey DeSmith (New Hampshire/Indiana Ice), Zane Gothberg (North Dakota/Fargo Force)

Defensemen: Brian Cooper (Fargo Force), Tommy Fallen (Air Force/Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Aaron Harstad (Colorado College/Green Bay Gamblers), Nick Mattson (North Dakota/Indiana Ice), Scott Mayfield (Denver/Youngstown Phantoms), Jordan Schmaltz (North Dakota/Sioux City Musketeers), Sam Windle (Bemidji State/Chicago Steel)

Forwards: Garrett Allen (Denver/Fargo Force), Seth Ambroz (Minnesota/Omaha Lancers), Austin Czarnik (Miami/Green Bay Gamblers), Ryan Dzingel (Ohio State/Lincoln Stars), Robert Francis (Western Michigan/Green Bay Gamblers), Max Gaede (Minnesota State/Sioux City Musketeers), Caleb Herbert (Minnesota-Duluth/Sioux City Musketeers), Cason Hohmann (Boston University/Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Max McCormick (Ohio State/Sioux City Musketeers), Jimmy Mullin (Miami/Fargo Force), Michael Parks (North Dakota/Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Colten St. Clair (North Dakota/Fargo Force), Sam Warning (Minnesota/Cedar Rapids RoughRiders)

Team USA will first face off against Canada West in an exhibition game on Sat., Nov. 6, at 10:30 p.m. EST, before beginning tournament play against Canada East on Mon., Nov. 8, at 7 p.m. EST.

UPDATE: Commitments added today (October 28) for DeSmith and Francis.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

  • charliecatamount

    wierd that there is little to no representation from future hockey east players, seeing that it IS the best conference in america…

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management