College Hockey:
St. Norbert goalie O’Brien named NCHA’s best

The Northern Collegiate Hockey Association announced their year-end awards and all-NCHA teams Thursday and St. Norbert senior goaltender B.J. O’Brien led the way being named the league’s player of the year.

“B.J. has been the backbone of our program the past two seasons,” said St. Norbert coach Tim Coghlin.  “Not only are his statistics compelling, but his work ethic on  and off the ice is tremendous. He is one of the most important reasons St. Norbert has won back-to-back league championships.”

O’Brien led the NCHA in conference goals-against average (1.60), save percentage (.931) and wins (14) during the regular season.  He went 17-2-1 overall with three shutouts.

Wisconsin-Eau Claire coach Matt Loen was named NCHA Coach of the Year.

The league also named its All-NCHA Team, All-Rookie Team and Honorable Mentions.

All-NCHA Team
Talon Berlando, Sr, F, Wisconsin-Superior
Justin Faryna, So, F, Wisconsin-Superior
Branden Gay, Sr, F, Wisconsin-Stout
Brandon Longley, Sr, F, St. Norbert
Johan Ryd, Jr, F, St. Norbert
Jordan Singer, So, F, Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Mike Bernardy, Jr, D, St. Norbert
Jeff Forsythe, Fr, D, Wisconsin-Superior
Nick Tabisz, Sr, D, St. Norbert
Bryce Wilcox, So, D, Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Tom Lescovich, So, G, Wisconsin-Stout
B.J. O’Brien, Sr, G, St. Norbert

Honorable Mention All-NCHA
Justin Brossman, Jr, F, Wisconsin-River Falls
Robert Carr, Sr, F, Wisconsin-Stout
Jeremy Dawes, Jr, F, St. Scholastica
Jon Madden, Jr, F, Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Kevin O’Donnell, Fr, F, Wisconsin-Stout
Scott Pulak, Sr, F, St. Norbert
John Bullis, Jr, D, Wisconsin-River Falls
John Kearns, Jr, D, Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Bob Kuehl, Sr, D, Wisconsin-Stout
Garrett Suter, Sr, D, Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Scott Lewan, Fr, G, Wisconsin-River Falls
Drew Strandberg, Fr, G, Wisconsin-Superior

NCHA All-Rookie Team
Max Bobrow, F, Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Alec Hagaman, F, Wisconsin-River Falls
Kevin O’Donnell, F, Wisconsin-Stout
Joe Perry, F, St. Norbert
Reid Campbell, D, St. Norbert
Jeff Forsythe, D, Wisconsin-Superior
Drew Strandberg, G, Wisconsin-Superior

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management