College Hockey:
Faber, Cranston win top NCHA women’s honors

The NCHA has announced that Wisconsin-Eau Claire forward Kristin Faber has been voted the women’s player of the year and Wisconsin-River Falls’ Joe Cranston is coach of the year.

“Kristin has been a dominant player in this league since she started four years ago,” said UW-Eau Claire head coach Mike Collins in a league release. “She has been a great team leader and she makes everyone around her a better hockey player.”

Faber scored 16 goals in conference play had five multi-point games on the season, four of which were multi-goal games. She had a hat trick against Wisconsin-Stevens Point on Jan. 21 and a two goal, one assist outing against Concordia-Wisconsin on Feb. 4.

UW-River Falls had an undefeated regular season and the greatest win total in school history at 22-0-3 to give Cranston his fourth top coach honor.

Kristin Faber, Sr, F, Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Sarah Luberda, Sr, F, Concordia-Wisconsin
Erin Marvin, Jr, F, Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Kait Mason, Fr, F, Wisconsin-River Falls
Lauren Straus, Fr, F, St. Norbert
Jessica Thompson, Sr, F, Wisconsin-River Falls
Kayleigh Bell, Sr, D, Wisconsin-River Falls
Lauren Conrad, Sr, D, Wisconsin-River Falls
Allie Pullar, Sr, D, Wisconsin-River Falls
Kelly Salis, Jr, D, Adrian
Kaley Gibson, Fr, G, St. Norbert
Emily Michelin, Fr, G, Adrian

Katie Flanagan, Jr, F, Wisconsin-River Falls
Stacey Kempson, Sr, F, Adrian
Melissa Kravich, Sr, F, Lake Forest
Sam Meuwissen, So, F, Concordia-Wisconsin
Olivia Rork, Jr, F, Adrian
Chelsey Wierschem, So, F, Wisconsin-Superior
Emma Agen, Fr, D, St. Norbert
Kelli Johnson, Sr, D, Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Bailey Lane, So, D, Wisconsin-Superior
Samantha Scheving, Jr, D, Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Cassi Campbell, Sr, G, Wisconsin-River Falls
Shanley Peters, Fr, G, Wisconsin-Superior

Kait Mason, F, Wisconsin-River Falls
Lauren Straus, F, St. Norbert
Allie Tanzer, F, Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Emma Agen, D, St. Norbert
Sheryl Kaskiw, D, Wisconsin-Superior
Emily Larson, D, Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Emily Michelin, G, Adrian

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management