College Hockey:
Wisconsin’s Duggan named WCHA player of the year

The WCHA women announced their annual award winners and All-WCHA teams Thursday night at the conference banquet held at TCF Bank Stadium in Minneapolis, Minn.  

 The big winner was Wisconsin senior forward Meghan Duggan, who was honored as the WCHA Player of the Year.

Minnesota-Duluth senior defenseman Jocelyne Larocque won two awards as she took home the Outstanding Student-Athlete of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year.

Wisconsin’s Mark Johnson was tabbed top coach and Minnesota freshman Amanda Kessel was named Rookie of the Year.

Player of the Year: Meghan Duggan, Sr, F, Wisconsin
Outstanding Student-Athlete of the Year: Jocelyne Larocque, Sr, D, Minnesota-Duluth
Defensive Player of the Year: Jocelyne Larocque, Sr, D, Minnesota-Duluth
Rookie of the Year: Amanda Kessel, Fr, F, Minnesota
Coach of the Year: Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
Scoring Champion: Meghan Duggan, Sr, F, Wisconsin
Goaltending Champion: Kim Martin, Sr, G, Minnesota-Duluth

Hilary Knight, Jr, F, Wisconsin
Meghan Duggan, Sr, F, Wisconsin
Brianna Decker, So, F, Wisconsin
Anne Schleper, Jr, D, Minnesota
Jocelyne Larocque, Sr, D, Minnesota-Duluth
Noora Räty, So, G, Minnesota

Natalie Spooner, Jr, F, Ohio State
Jocelyne Lamoureux, So, F, North Dakota
Haley Irwin, Jr, F, Minnesota-Duluth
Monique Lamoureux-Kolls, So, D, North Dakota
Jessica Wong, So, D, Minnesota-Duluth
Zuzana Tomcikova, Jr, G, Bemidji State

Elin Holmlov, Sr, F, Minnesota-Duluth
Erin Cody, Sr, F, Bemidji State
Amanda Kessel, Fr, F, Minnesota
Megan Bozek, So, D, Minnesota
Brittany Haverstock, Jr, D, Wisconsin
Kim Martin, Sr, G, Minnesota-Duluth

Amanda Kessel, F, Minnesota
Kelly Terry, F, Minnesota
Brittany Ammerman, F, Wisconsin
Baylee Gillanders, D, Minnesota
Kayla Berg, D, North Dakota
Alex Rigsby, G, Wisconsin

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

  • Todd

    Kim Martin had the best season of all the goaltenders in the WCHA.
    So I understand her winning the “Goaltending Champion” award.
    But then why was she named to the Third Team, rather than the First Team?

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management