College Hockey:
Miami, Ferris State lead All-CCHA selections

A trio of Miami forwards and two seniors for Ferris State have been selected to the All-CCHA First Team.

RedHawks senior forward Andy Miele, the nation’s leading scorer, was a unanimous selection to the First Team, marking the first time a player received only first-place votes since Michigan’s Kevin Porter in 2008.

Michigan senior forward Carl Hagelin earned seven first-place votes after captaining the Wolverines to their 11th regular-season championship while leading the team in goals, assists and points.

Miami forwards Carter Camper and Reilly Smith both finished with six first-place votes and a total of 40 points, resulting in four forwards selected for First-Team honors while only two were selected for the Second-Team.

Ferris State teammates Zach Redmond and Pat Nagle were also named to the First Team. Redmond was the only defenseman in the league to lead his team in scoring, while Nagle had the second-best overall goals-against-average in the nation (1.97) and the top save percentage in the CCHA (.924).

Michigan State defenseman Torey Krug, the Spartans first sophomore captain in a quarter-century, completes the First Team after leading the league in goals by a defenseman during conference play.

2010-11 CCHA All-Conference Teams

First Team
Andy Miele, Sr, F, Miami
Carl Hagelin, Sr, F, Michigan
Carter Camper, Sr, F, Miami
Reilly Smith, So, F, Miami
Zach Redmond, Sr, D, Ferris State
Torey Krug, So, D, Michigan State
Pat Nagle, Sr, G, Ferris State

Second Team
T.J. Tynan, Fr, F, Notre Dame                                                               
Anders Lee, Fr, F, Notre Dame
Chris Wideman, Jr, D, Miami
Jon Merrill, Fr, D, Michigan
Scott Greenham, Jr, G, Alaska

Honorable Mention: Joe Sova, Jr, D, Alaska; Pat Cannone, Sr, F, Miami; Rick Schofield, Sr, F, Lake Superior State; Brandon Burlon, Jr, D, Michigan; Sam Calabrese, So, D, Notre Dame; Cody Reichard, Jr, G, Miami.

Others receiving votes:  Forwards — Sergio Somma, Sr, Ohio State; John Albert, Sr, Ohio State; Max Campbell, Sr, Western Michigan; Ryan Guentzel, Sr, Notre Dame; Chase Balisy, Fr, Western Michigan; Louie Caporusso, Sr, Michigan; Derek Grant, So, Michigan State; Brett Perlini, Jr, Michigan State. Defense ­— Zach Trotman, So, Lake Superior State; Shane Sims, Sr, Ohio State; Chad Billins, Jr, Ferris State. Goaltenders — Kevin Kapalka, Fr, Lake Superior State; Shawn Hunwick, Sr, Michigan; Cal Heeter, Jr, Ohio State; Jerry Kuhn, Sr, Western Michigan.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

  • streaker

    Hunwick snub for any recognition duly noted. What more can the kid do? He won a tourney title last year, won a regular season title this year. Had better conference numbers than ANYBODY- including Reichard (since he played more minutes.) You just gave Michigan more incentive.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management