College Hockey:
Thompson, York, Coyle earn top Hockey East laurels

New Hampshire forward Paul Thompson was named Hockey East player of the year Thursday night at the league’s annual championship awards night at the Royal Sonesta Hotel in Cambridge, Mass.

Thompson, who headlined the First-Team All-Star squad, was the Hockey East scoring champion in conference play with 42 points and his 23 goals were second best in conference action. Thompson is the first ever New Hampshire native to win the award and he is the third Wildcat in the last four years to garner the award.

Coach of the year Jerry York led Boston College to a 20-win season in league play and a first-place finish in the league standings. It marks the first time since the 1994 Boston University squad that a league team has accomplished the 20-win feat in league action.

BU forward Charlie Coyle earned top rookie honors. Coyle, the third BU player in the last four years to win the award, recorded a league-high 21 points in conference contests. He notched a point in 15 of 27 Hockey East games.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

  • Blueliner

    I would have voted for Mark Dennehy, but it is hard to argue against Coach York’s accomplishments.

  • Anonymous

    York over Dennehy…still laughing about that one. How the heck can a coach of the defending National Champions get coach of the year the next season? It doesn’t even make sense. The only thing I can think of is that they didn’t want to give it to Dennehy two years in a row, but the leap Merrimack took this year was big enough to merit another consecutive win.

  • Doke

    A complete travesty that Dennehy didn’t win. Ridiculous.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management