College Hockey:
North Dakota, Boston College lead list of 2011 All-Americans

— North Dakota and Boston College together lead the 2010-11 list of All-Americans, with two first-team and one second-team honoree each. In all, 14 different Division I men’s hockey programs were represented.

This season’s All-Americans were announced Friday night at the Frozen Four and were chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association.

Only one player returned as a first-team selection, Rensselaer senior forward Chase Polacek. Two second-team members from last season were named to this year’s first team, New Hampshire junior defenseman Blake Kessel and Minnesota-Duluth junior forward Jack Connolly. All 10 finalists for the Hobey Baker Award were among the honorees.

First Team


Keith Kinkaid, so., G, Union
Brian Dumoulin, so., D, Boston College
Blake Kessel, jr., D, New Hampshire#
Cam Atkinson, jr., F, Boston College
Chase Polacek, sr., F, Rensselaer*
Paul Thompson, sr., F, New Hampshire


Pat Nagle, sr., G, Ferris State
Chay Genoway, sr., D, North Dakota
Justin Schultz, so., D, Wisconsin
Jack Connolly, jr., F, Minnesota-Duluth#
Matt Frattin, sr., F, North Dakota
Andy Miele, sr., F, Miami

Second Team


John Muse, sr., G, Boston College
Nick Bailen, so., D, Rensselaer
Taylor Fedun, sr., D, Princeton
Stephane Da Costa, so., F, Merrimack
Gustav Nyquist, jr., F, Maine*
Paul Zanette, sr., F, Niagara


Aaron Dell, so., G, North Dakota
Jake Gardiner, jr., D, Wisconsin
Zach Redmond, sr., D, Ferris State
Carter Camper, sr., F, Miami
Mike Connolly, jr., F, Minnesota-Duluth
Carl Hagelin, sr., F, Michigan

* — Repeat winner
# — Second-team winner in 2009-10

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

  • Bulldogs r Champs

    Must have been a lot of people watching Ferris State this year – They were well represented. They must have been pretty good if they beat out some of the players I got a chance to see in the tourney.

  • WorldsSaddestSiouxFan

    Normally I would gripe about Dell getting snubbed on the first team bid (especially since he was the only real positive from Thursday’s Sioux game), but I think it shows a lot of class that they were willing to give the senior Nagle the spot. Obviously both had phenomenal years and you can’t really complain either way. Personally I think they should expand this to 3-4 teams because it’s pretty difficult to look at this list and say guys like Jaden Schwartz and Justin Fontaine got left off.

  • Hakstol

    Frattin, this generation’s Lee Goren. good luck in the AHL

    • Nyqi

      Really? Not sure that Toronto agrees since they signed him and had him play in the very last game of the season. I think that Frattin will be just fine in the NHL in the years to come.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management