College Hockey:
Western Michigan’s Blashill gets USCHO nod as top coach

Western Michigan rookie coach Jeff Blashill, who took over a squad that won only eight games the previous year, has been voted as USCHO’s coach of the year.

Western Michigan coach Jeff Blashill. (Zolton Cohen, Inc.)

Jeff Blashill led an 11-victory improvement for Western Michigan in his first season behind the bench (photo: Zolton Cohen).

In an amazing turnaround, Blashill took the same squad that had finished in the basement the previous year and coached them to a 19-13-10 record and fourth place in the CCHA regular season standings, Western’s first top-four finish since 1995-96.

He followed that up by leading the Broncos to a series win over Ferris State and Western’s first CCHA tournament semifinal since 1993. There, they upset Michigan 5-2 en route to a runner-up finish to Miami in the tournament, Western’s first appearance in the CCHA championship game since 1986.

To follow up on that, Western made the NCAA tournament for the first time in 15 years and gave Denver all it could handle before losing 3-2 in double overtime. The Broncos were less than five minutes away from an upset before Denver rallied to tie the game.

Blashill has a long history in the CCHA. He tended goal for Ferris State and was an assistant coach at both Ferris State and Miami prior to becoming a coach in the USHL.

“Jeff’s an excellent recruiter and a real student of the game,” said Miami coach Enrico Blasi.

Blashill had only four freshmen on the roster. While two were big scoring contributors, Blashill coaxed excellent seasons out of several sophomores and juniors. In Western’s two seasons before Blashill took over, the Broncos won eight and 12 games, respectively.

Merrimack coach Mark Dennehy was the runner-up to Blashill for coach of the year.

USCHO’s awards were voted on by staff members at the Frozen Four. Still to come this week are the All-USCHO first, second and third teams.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

  • Khampton1212

    Is there D3 awards?

  • CIS

    He is completely deserving. Can’t wait for next season. We’ll see how he handles suddenly high expectations. Go Broncos!

  • Billymbrew

    Why are there no Sioux fans on here arguing for Hakstol? Or for that Matter I can’t believe they don’t want Frattin named coach of the year.

    • GeauxSioux

      Because people like you exist.

  • Friedrooster

    I was shocked when he didn’t win CCHA coach of the year ( went to the Notre Dame coach, who did a good job this year as well, but nowhere near what Blashill did!)

  • guest

    I want to give credit to the national polls. Fixing the wrong the CCHA did to Blashill even the Notre Dame coach admitted he shouldn’t have got it.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management