College Hockey:
St. Norbert players lead All-USCHO D-III teams

NCAA D-III champions St. Norbert placed one player each on the first, second, and third All-USCHO teams, while Hamline and Fredonia each placed two players on the three teams.

Leading the way on the first team were top scorers Josh Harris of Castleton, Shawn Skelly of Adrian, and Jordon Oye of Fredonia, who finished 1, 4, and 11 in the country in scoring, respectively. On defense are Kyle Shearer-Hardy of Bowdoin, who racked up 38 points on the year (tied for 16), and Chris Berenguer of Hamline, who scored 32 points, (tied with multiple players at 43). Rounding out the first team is USCHO Player of the Year B.J. O’Brien, who led the country in goaltending with a .930 saves percentage and 1.65 goals against average and stopped 39 in the Frozen Four semifinal against defending champs Norwich.

Perhaps the most contested position on the three squads was the final forward position, where the country’s third leading scorer, sophomore Dakota Dubetz of Marian, edged Eric Miller of Adrian for the final slot of forwards.

First Team
Josh Harris                       Castleton                       F
Shawn Skelly                    Adrian                            F
Jordon Oye                       Fredonia                       F
Chris Berenguer              Hamline                        D
Kyle Shearer-Hardy      Bowdoin                       D
B.J. O’Brien                        St. Norbert                  G

Second Team
Branden Gay                   Wis.-Stout                      F
Brian Arrigoni                Hamline                        F
Matt Wallace                   Hobart                           F
Joe Houk                          Hamilton                       D
Nick Tabisz                      St. Norbert                   D
Paul Beckwith                 Oswego                          G

Third Team
Dakota Dubetz              Marian                                F
Johan Ryd                      St. Norbert                       F
Jeremiah Ketts             Johnson and Wales       F
Steve Rizer                     Fredonia                            D
Greg Eskedjian              Norwich                             D
Connor Toomey           MSOE                                  G

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

  • FlyerGuy

    Do they have a rookie team?

  • Crisgoyle

    Yeah is there a couple rookie teams coming out like last year?

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management