College Hockey:
Wisconsin grad Duggan a finalist for Sportswoman of the Year

Meghan Duggan, a member of the U.S. Women’s National Team and 2011 Wisconsin graduate, was named one of 10 finalists for the 2011 Sportswoman of the Year, presented annually by the Women’s Sports Foundation.

Past winners of the award include one-time Wisconsin teammate Jessie Vetter (2009), gymnast Nastia Liukin (2008), soccer star Mia Hamm (1997, 1999) and figure skater Michelle Kwan (1998).

Duggan posted 39 goals and 87 points last year to lead all Division I women’s players and also won the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award while leading the Badgers to the national championship.

Voting for the Sportswoman of the Year will be open through midnight EDT on Monday, Sept. 5, at the Women’s Sports Foundation’s Facebook page.

The Sportswoman of the Year honorees will be announced during the 32nd Annual Salute to Women in Sports awards gala on Oct. 19 at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City and will be hosted by journalist and sportscaster Bonnie Bernstein.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management