College Hockey:
Wisconsin picked to win WCHA women’s title again

Wisconsin is the pick to win the WCHA women’s title again in the annual preseason poll of league coaches.

The Badgers collected six first-place votes, while Minnesota finished second with two first place votes.

Minnesota-Duluth was picked to finish third.

North Dakota was picked to finish fourth, followed by Ohio State in fifth place, Bemidji State in sixth, Minnesota State in seventh and St. Cloud State in eighth.

Team (First-place votes)
1. Wisconsin (6)47
2. Minnesota (2)44
3. Minnesota-Duluth35
4. North Dakota34
5. Ohio State24
6. Bemidji State20
7. Minnesota State13
8. St. Cloud State7

Wisconsin senior forward Hilary Knight is the head coaches’ pick to be preseason WCHA Player of the Year and three players – North Dakota forward Michelle Karvinen, Minnesota forward Meghan Lorence and Minnesota-Duluth defenseman Brigette Lacquette – are the head coaches’ choice as pre-season WCHA Rookies of the Year.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

  • Guest

    Watta Joke!  The Lamoureux’s are gonna tear this conference up this year

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management