College Hockey:
Top 10 finalists announced for Kazmaier Award

The USA Hockey Foundation announced Thursday the 10 finalists for the 2012 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award.

The award, given to the top player in NCAA Division I women’s hockey, will be presented at a brunch ceremony on March 17 at the Greysolon Ballroom in Duluth, Minn., in conjunction with the NCAA Women’s Frozen Four (March 16 and 18).

The top-10 class for the award represents all four women’s conferences and is listed below. Among the 10 finalists are three from last year’s top 10 (Laura Fortino, Rebecca Johnston and Hilary Knight), while Bailey Bram and Florence Schelling were top-10 finalists in 2010.

The three finalists for this year’s award will be announced on March 8.

Bailey BramSr.FMercyhurst
Brianna DeckerJr.FWisconsin
Laura FortinoJr.DCornell
Rebecca JohnstonSr.FCornell
Amanda KesselJr.FMinnesota
Hilary KnightSr.FWisconsin
Jocelyne LamoureuxJr.FNorth Dakota
Monique Lamoureux-KollsJr.F/DNorth Dakota
Florence SchellingSr.GNortheastern
Natalie SpoonerSr.FOhio State

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management