College Hockey:
Wells named AHCA women’s D-I coach of the year

For his efforts in leading St. Lawrence to the 2012 ECAC tournament championship and a berth in the NCAA quarterfinals, Chris Wells has been named the AHCA women’s Division I coach of the year.

The Saints compiled a record of 24-10-4 this year, including a 18-2-1 streak from Dec. 2, 2011-March 3, 2012, culminating in beating Cornell in the ECAC tournament final.

Through four seasons as the Saints’ head coach, Wells. who also played at SLU from 1988-1992, has compiled a record of 80-53-16.

Minnesota’s Brad Frost was the runner-up for this year’s award.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management