College Hockey:
Minnesota and North Dakota each have two players on All-USCHO Women’s First Team

Minnesota and Wisconsin, who played a riveting NCAA championship game won by the Gophers, each placed three players on the All-USCHO teams, as did WCHA rival North Dakota, while Boston University, Bemidji State, and Northeastern each placed two skaters.

We started our first team selections with the Patty Kazmaier finalists: Wisconsin’s Brianna Decker, who won our Player of the Year, North Dakota’s Jocelyne Lamoureux, who tied Decker for the scoring race with 82 points, and Northeastern’s Florence Schelling, who led the country in save percentage at .950.

Rounding out our first team were Minnesota’s Amanda Kessel, who finished third in scoring, teammate Megan Bozek,  and North Dakota’s Monique Lamoureux-Kolls, who transitioned to defense from forward during the year and provided great balance both offensively and defensively for North Dakota.

We also named an All-Rookie team, which was led by our Rookie of the Year, freshman Kendall Coyne. North Dakota’s Michelle Karvinen, a sophomore, joined Coyne and Robert Morris forward phenom Rebecca Vint on the All-Rookie team. Rounding out the All-Rookie squad were Mercyhurst defenseman Molly Byrne, Minnesota-Duluth defenseman Brigette Lacquette, and St. Lawrence netminder Carmen KacDonald, who helped the Saints find success again this year.

First Team

F: Brianna Decker, Wisconsin, Jr.
F: Jocelyne Lamoureux, North Dakota, Jr.
F: Amanda Kessel, Minnesota, So.
D: Megan Bozek, Minnesota, Jr.
D: Monique Lamoureux-Kolls, North Dakota., Jr.
G: Florence Schelling, Northeastern, Sr.

Second Team
F: Hilary Knight, Wisconsin, Sr.
F: Rebecca Johnston, Cornell, Sr.
F: Bailey Bram, Mercyhurst, Sr.
D: Laura Fortino, Cornell, Jr.
D: Tara Watchhorn, Boston University, Sr.
G: Noora Räty, Minnesota, Jr.

Third Team
F: Natalie Spooner, Ohio State, Sr.
F: Carolyne Prévost, Wisconsin, Sr.
F: Jenn Wakefield, Boston University, Sr.
D: Blake Bolden, Boston College, Jr.
D: Montana Vichorek, Bemidji State, Sr.
D: Zuzana Tomcikova, Bemidji State, Sr.

(Honorable Mentions: Haley Irwin, Minnesota-Duluth, Sr., F; Brianne Jenner, Cornell, So., F; Jen Schoullis, Minnesota, Sr., F; Jessica Wong, Minnesota-Duluth, Jr., D; Alex Rigsby, Wisconsin, So., G; Genevieve Lacasse, Providence, Sr., G)

All-Rookie Team
F: Kendall Coyne, Northeastern
F: Michelle Karvinen, North Dakota
F: Rebecca Vint, Robert Morris
D: Molly Byrne, Mercyhurst
D: Brigette Lacquette, Minnesota-Duluth
G: Carmen MacDonald, St. Lawrence

(Honorable Mentions: Alex Carpenter, Boston College, F; Jillian Saulnier, Cornell, F; Rachel Ramsey, Minnesota, D)

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management