College Hockey:
Elmira, Middlebury, Wisconsin-River Falls join five automatic qualifiers in NCAA women’s D-III field of eight

Elmira, Middlebury and Wisconsin-River Falls were awarded at-large bids to the 2013 Division III women’s NCAA tournament when the brackets were revealed Monday morning.

They join five automatic qualifiers in the field of eight, with four quarterfinal games being played at campus sites on March 9.

The automatic bids: Unbeaten Plattsburgh from the ECAC D-III West, Norwich from the ECAC D-III East, NESCAC champion Bowdoin, NCHA champion St. Norbert and undefeated Gustavus Adolphus, MIAC champs.

In quarterfinal games Saturday, March 9:

• Plattsburgh will host St. Norbert;

• Norwich will host Middlebury;

• Bowdoin will host Elmira;

• Gustavus Adolphus will host Wisconsin-River Falls.

Winners of the top two games will face off in one semifinal on March 15, while winners of the second pair will compete in the other semifinal. Those games and the championship on March 16 will be held at Wessman Arena in Superior, Wis.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management