College Hockey:
Miami takes top awards at CCHA awards banquet

Miami won player of the year, rookie of the year and coach of the year at Friday night’s CCHA awards banquet at the Fox Theatre in downtown Detroit.

Hobey Baker finalist Austin Czarnik was named player of the year, while Riley Barber earned top rookie and RedHawks’ bench boss Enrico Blasi took top coaching honors.

Alaska forward Adam Henderson was named scholar-athlete of the year, Notre Dame goalie Joe Rogers was awarded the Terry Flanagan Memorial Award for perseverance and Western Michigan’s Brett Beebe and Alaska’s Kaare Odegard shared the Mike and Marian Ilitch Humanitarian Award.

On the defensive side of the puck, Michigan freshman Jacob Trouba picked up best offensive defenseman laurels, WMU’s Dan DeKeyser landed best defensive defenseman honors and WMU’s Dane Walters was named best defensive forward.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management