College Hockey:
Minnesota leads D-I Women’s All-USCHO teams

After finishing the season a perfect 41-0-0 en route to a second consecutive national championship, it’s no surprise that the Minnesota Golden Gophers, who also had the final three nominees for the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, lead all teams with four skaters on the All-USCHO teams; one of those skaters, Hannah Brandt, is also on the All-Rookie team.

Boston College, which lost to Minnesota in the Frozen Four, placed three skaters on the teams, while Boston University, Clarkson, Cornell, North Dakota, and Wisconsin each placed two skaters.

Leading the first team were the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award finalists, Minnesota’s Noora Räty, Megan Bozek, and Amanda Kessel (Kessel won the Kazmaier). Rounding out the first team were the Lamoureux twins, Monique and Jocelyne of North Dakota, and Wisconsin’s Brianna Decker, who claimed the Kazmaier in 2012.

Heading up the Rookie Team is our USCHO Rookie of the Year, Hannah Brandt. Also on the Rookie Team is Lindenwood goalie Nicole Hensley, who set a record in making 90 saves in Lindenwood’s triple-overtime loss to Robert Morris.

USCHO’s D-I Women’s Awards are voted on by the D-I columnist and editor.

First Team
G – Noora Räty, Minnesota
D – Megan Bozek, Minnesota
D – Monique Lamoureux, North Dakota
F – Brianna Decker, Wisconsin
F – Amanda Kessel, Minnesota
F – Jocelyne Lamoureux, North Dakota

Second Team
G – Erica Howe, Clarkson
D – Blake Bolden, Boston College
D – Lauriane Rougeau, Cornell
F – Alex Carpenter, Boston College
F – Hannah Brandt, Minnesota
F – Brianne Jenner, Cornell

Third Team
G – Alex Rigsby, Wisconsin
D – Brigette Lacquette, Minnesota-Duluth
D – Amanda Boulier, St. Lawrence
F – Marie-Philip Poulin, Boston University
F – Kendall Coyne, Northeastern
F – Christine Bestland, Mercyhurst

Rookie Team
G – Nicole Hensley, Lindenwood
D – Erin Ambrose, Clarkson
D – Alexis Crossley, New Hampshire
F – Hanna Brandt, Minnesota
F – Haley Skarupa, Boston College
F – Sarah Lefort, Boston University

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=675732128 William Whyte

    Nice to see Blake Bolden get the recognition there. If you watch the GWG in the Frozen Four semis you can see her realising the danger Corinne is in, throwing herself across the goalmouth behind Corinne to try to get the puck, and nearly making it. Giving it her all to her last play of her last season.

  • http://www.facebook.com/joe.bertagna.1 Joe Bertagna

    Thank you for your coverage of women’s ice hockey all year. It is greatly appreciated. – Joe Bertagna

    • Candace

      Thanks Joe! What an historic season it was. Can’t wait for next year.

  • puckfan

    Amazing to think that the Lamoureux twins were on the Gophers roster before transferring to North Dakota.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management