College Hockey:
Seven finalists unveiled for Spencer Penrose Award as top Division I men’s coach

Seven coaches have qualified as finalists for the Spencer Penrose Award, given to the top coach in Division I men’s hockey.

To be a finalist, a coach must be given his league’s coach of the year award or lead his team to the Frozen Four.

For 2013, that group includes:

• Yale’s Keith Allain, a Frozen Four coach
• Norm Bazin, the Hockey East coach of the year and a Frozen Four coach
• Enrico Blasi, the CCHA coach of the year
• Dave Burkholder, the Atlantic Hockey coach of the year
• Mike Hastings, the WCHA coach of the year
• Bob Motzko, a Frozen Four coach
• Rand Pecknold, the ECAC Hockey coach of the year and a Frozen Four coach

The winner will be announced on Wednesday, April 10, the day before the national semifinals.

Blasi is the only finalist who has previously won the Spencer Penrose Award, doing so in 2006.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

  • Mikey

    Norm Bazin. Lowell’s turnaround has been more than impressive to watch.

    • jmsptrk

      agreed. my fav to notch their first ncaa title.

  • Joseph Crowley

    This is Norm Bazin’s first recruiting class and it just won Hockey East regular season and tournament two years after a miserable season.

    • ChuckGandCrew

      He did a great job recruiting size after getting bounced by PC in the first round, but the defensive system he’s implemented is why he should win. There’s no selfish player. Not the most exciting team in college, but unquestionably the most consistent second half team in the nation.

  • rickermortes

    I can’t argue with any of the comments I’ve seen. Lowell was a train wreck. Now? Good grief.

    • Joseph Crowley

      Plus how is Hockey East going to put goals Connor Hellebuyck on a regular basis?

    • ChuckGandCrew

      Carr was playing injured the whole season when they only won 5. Plus they were a young team, Blaise was a good coach, but Bazin has been great.

      • RedSox63

        Long time UML season ticket holder here (~27 years) but can’t agree with your “Blaise was a good coach” statement. “Bazin has been great”, however, is spot on!!

  • RedSox63

    Sort of annoying how the author of this article doesn’t mention where each coach is from (except for Allain).

    As a long time UML fan/season ticket holder, it’s obvious where my “vote” would be but I also kind of feel that if Coach Bazin wins it, it will be a “make up” from his getting robbed of the award last year. Everyone keeps mentioning this big “turnaround” of the program to which I say PFFFT. The turnaround was LAST year — this year is merely a progression from last year’s success. This year’s Frozen Four appearance was not unexpected in this alum’s eyes — I had them picked to be in Pitts before the season started. (And I think many agree given that they were near the top of the nat’l preseason polls).

    I think people should not overlook Coach Pecknold’s chances – to me, HIS results are unexpected…..

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management