College Hockey:
USCHO awards: Bazin makes it two straight selections as coach of the year

In his first season at Massachusetts-Lowell, Norm Bazin engineered a 19-win improvement from the season before.

What was left for an encore? Two Hockey East trophies and a trip to the Frozen Four later, Bazin and the River Hawks showed last season was no fluke.

Bazin repeated as USCHO’s coach of the year after leading Lowell to a 28-11-2 season and the program’s first appearance in the national semifinals.

He also picked up the Spencer Penrose Award from the American Hockey Coaches Association as the Division I men’s coach of the year and the Hockey East coaching award.

That made it four straight years Bazin has been named his league’s coach of the year. He was the NESCAC honoree in his final two seasons at Hamilton before moving to Lowell.

In two seasons with the River Hawks, Bazin has a 52-24-3 record with Hockey East regular season and playoff championships earned this season. Both titles were firsts for Lowell.

The USCHO postseason awards were selected by U.S. College Hockey Online Division I men’s conference columnists after the Frozen Four. The All-USCHO teams and rookie of the year were announced Thursday; the player of the year is yet to come.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management