College Hockey:
USA Hockey names annual award winners, several with college hockey ties

College hockey was well represented as USA Hockey on Wednesday announced its annual award winners that will be honored at the 2013 Annual Congress during the week of June 5-8 in Colorado Springs, Colo.

Quinnipiac senior goalie Eric Hartzell was named College Player of the Year, while Minnesota junior and Patty Kazmaier winner Amanda Kessel earned the Bob Allen Women’s Player of the Year nod.

Incoming Minnesota forward Taylor Cammarata was tabbed the Dave Tyler Junior Player of the Year after an MVP season with the Waterloo Black Hawks of the United States Hockey League and St. Cloud State recruit Charlie Lindgren grabbed Dave Peterson Goalie of the Year honors with the USHL’s Sioux Falls Stampede.

In addition, Sue Ring-Jarvi, who started the Minnesota women’s club team in 1974, earned Adult Ironman of the Year honors and former St. Lawrence player Al Bloomer won the Walter Yaciuk Award for commitment and contribution to the education and development of USA Hockey coaches.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management