College Hockey:
CWHL draft heavy on women’s collegians; Wong taken first overall

The Canadian Women’s Hockey League held its annual draft on August 26 via a conference call in Mississauga, Ont.

Of the 66 players taken, more than 50 played U.S. college hockey at the Division I and Division III levels.

Minnesota-Duluth alum Jessica Wong went first overall to the to-be-named Alberta team, followed by former UMD teammate Katie Wilson going second to the Toronto Furies, Jess Jones (Mercyhurst) third overall to the Brampton Thunder, former Cornell skater Lauriane Rougeau to the Montreal Stars and Boston College’s Blake Bolden staying in town and rounding out the first round going to the Boston Blades.

Player's Name
Round (Overall)
Jessica WongMinnesota-DuluthAlberta1 (1)
Katie WilsonCornellToronto1 (2)
Jess JonesMercyhurstBrampton1 (3)
Lauriane RougeauCornellMontreal1 (4)
Blake BoldenBoston CollegeBoston1 (5)
Delayne BrianRobert Morris/Wayne StateAlberta2 (6)
Holly Carrie-MattimoeSyracuseToronto2 (7)
Danielle SkirrowClarksonBrampton2 (8)
Jillian DempseyHarvardBoston2 (10)
Peggy WakehamVermontAlberta3 (11)
Sasha NanjiDartmouthToronto3 (12)
Danielle BoudreauClarksonBrampton3 (13)
Camille DumaisDartmouthMontreal3 (14)
Casey PickettNortheasternBoston3 (15)
Jessica VellaProvidenceToronto4 (17)
Jill CardellaBoston UniversityBoston4 (20)
Reagan FischerDartmouthAlberta5 (21)
Alyssa BaldinWayne StateToronto5 (22)
Kelly HartBemidji StateBrampton5 (23)
Brittany OttMaineBoston5 (25)
Bailey LaneWisconsin-Superior/Wayne StateToronto6 (27)
Rachel LlanesNortheasternBoston6 (30)
Taryn PeacockMaineAlberta7 (31)
Julie AllenNew HampshireToronto7 (32)
Andie LeDonneRensselaerBrampton7 (33)
Kelly CookePrincetonBoston7 (35)
Tegan SchroederClarkson/Wayne StateAlberta8 (36)
Lisa MullanSyracuseToronto8 (37)
Ashley PendletonMercyhurstBrampton8 (38)
Kiira DosdallColgateBoston8 (40)
Jacquie PierriBrownAlberta9 (41)
Maggie GiamoCortland/RITToronto9 (42)
Sonja von der BliekRensselaerBrampton9 (43)
Alissa FromkinBoston UniversityBoston9 (45)
Lauren SullivanElmiraToronto10 (47)
Maggie TavernaBoston CollegeBoston10 (50)
Jamie MillerQuinnipiacBrampton11 (53)
Dru BurnsBoston CollegeBoston11 (55)
Rhianna KurioUnionAlberta12 (56)
Ashley CottrellProvidenceBoston12 (58)
Christie JensenProvidenceBoston13 (61)
Shannon MahoneyBoston UniversityBoston14 (62)
Emma RamboUnionBoston15 (63)
Becca KoppelWesleyanBoston16 (64)
Zoe ZisisNortheasternBoston18 (66)

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management