College Hockey:
Nominees unveiled for 2013-14 Senior CLASS Award

The 20 men’s hockey Division I seniors selected as candidates for the 2013-14 Senior CLASS Award were announced Thursday.

The individuals are those who excel both on and off the ice. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award “focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities,” according to a news release

Of the 20 candidates, 12 have grade-point averages of 3.5 or higher.

Player's Name
Mac BennettMichigan
Jack BergerPrinceton
Sam BrittainDenver
Greg CareySt. Lawrence
Scott CzarnowczanFerris State
Nic DowdSt. Cloud State
Kyle GibbonsCanisius
Kevin GoumasNew Hampshire
Jordan HeywoodMerrimack
Brock HiggsRensselaer
Cole IkkalaUnion
Andy IlesCornell
Stephen JohnsNotre Dame
Nick JonesMercyhurst
Dennis RobertsonBrown
Kevin RyanNiagara
Steven ShamanskiProvidence
Dillon SimpsonNorth Dakota
Ryan WaltersNebraska-Omaha
Matt ZarboClarkson

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management