College Hockey:
Eighteen players nominated for 2014 Hockey Humanitarian Award

The Hockey Humanitarian Award is on display at the 2012 Frozen Four (photo: Jim Rosvold).

Eighteen players, including repeat honorees Jordan Heywood of Merrimack and Jeffrey Reppucci of Holy Cross, have been named as nominees for the 2014 Hockey Humanitarian Award.

The award, in its 19th year, recognizes college hockey’s finest citizen and includes players from Divisions I, II and III and both genders.

Finalists will be announced in February, and the 2014 recipient will be named at the Frozen Four in Philadelphia on Friday, April 11.

Here are the nominees:

Wade BennettSeniorDenver
Amanda ColinSeniorQuinnipiac
Nic DowdSeniorSt. Cloud State
Kelsie FralickJuniorConnecticut College
Alyssa GagliardiSeniorCornell
Jordan HeywoodSeniorMerrimack
Cole IkkalaSeniorUnion
Andy IlesSeniorCornell
Ashley JohnstonSeniorUnion
Mark MacMillanJuniorNorth Dakota
Brandi PollockSeniorRobert Morris
Danielle RancourtSeniorVermont
Joe RogersSeniorNotre Dame
Jeffrey ReppucciSeniorHoly Cross
Mike SanteeSeniorArmy
Jocelyn SimpsonSeniorColgate
Max SmithSophomoreConcordia (Minn.)
Kelly WallaceSeniorNortheastern

The nominees cover nine conferences:

• In Division I men, Atlantic Hockey, ECAC Hockey, Hockey East and the NCHC.

• In Division III women, the CHA, ECAC Hockey and Hockey East.

• In Division III men, the MIAC.

• And in Division III women, the NESCAC.

St. Anselm’s Tucker Mullin was the 2013 recipient.

U.S. College Hockey Online has been a Hockey Humanitarian Award media and marketing partner since 2007.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

  • Sandy Hill Crane

    Some of those sound like girls names.

    • Anti-NCAA

      The award, in its 19th year, recognizes college hockey’s finest citizen and includes players from Divisions I, II and III and BOTH GENDERS….

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management