College Hockey:
Eight forwards part of 10 finalists for 2014 Patty Kazmaier Award

The USA Hockey Foundation on Thursday announced the top 10 finalists for the 2014 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award.

The honor is awarded annually to the top player in NCAA Division I women’s ranks.

Player's Name
Erin AmbroseDSo.Clarkson
Brittany AmmermanFSr.Wisconsin
Kelly BabstockFSr.Quinnipiac
Christine BestlandFSr.Mercyhurst
Rachael BonaFJr.Minnesota
Hannah BrandtFSo.Minnesota
Sarah LefortFSo.Boston University
Emerance MaschmeyerGSo.Harvard
Jamie Lee RattrayFSr.Clarkson
Jillian SaulnierFJr.Cornell

The three finalists, including the winner of the 2014 award, will be chosen by a 13-person selection committee made up of NCAA Division I women’s coaches, representatives of print and broadcast media, an at-large member and a representative of USA Hockey.

The top three finalists will be announced on Thurs., March 6 and then this year’s winner will be unveiled at a brunch ceremony at the Oakdale Theater in Wallingford, Conn., on Saturday, March 22, as part of the NCAA Women’s Frozen Four weekend.

Minnesota forward Amanda Kessel took home the 2013 Patty Kazmaier award.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management