College Hockey:
ECAC Northeast tabs Obregon top player, Tolan top coach

ECAC Northeast player of the year Josh Obregon from Johnson and Wales had a solid year offensively and is still just a sophomore (photo: Stephen Spencer).

The ECAC Northeast doled out its year-end awards Thursday and four different schools were represented in the major awards.

Johnson and Wales sophomore forward Josh Obregon was named player of the year, while Curry junior Derek Mohney took home goaltender of the year laurels, Suffolk’s Simon Leahy earned rookie of the year and R.J. Tolan from Wentworth was tabbed coach of the year.

Obregon leads all conference in overall scoring with 17 goals and 15 assists for 32 points in 26 games and is second on conference scoring behind Sean Fleming of Nichols.

Mohney is second in overall goaltending with a 2.05 goals-against average and a .935 save percentage with only Johnson and Wales netminder Joey Ballmer better in those categories.

With nine goals and 19 points, Leahy is atop the Suffolk scoring race with senior Charlie McGinnis.

Wentworth went 11-12-2 overall in 2013-14, but 9-5-0 in conference games under the tutelage of Tolan.

In addition, the ECAC Northeast named its First and Second All-Conference Teams, All-Conference Honorable Mentions and its All-Rookie Team.

2013-14 First Team All-Conference

Player's Name
Josh ObregonFSo.Johnson and Wales
Sean FlemingFSo.Nichols
Tyler BeasleyFSo.Nichols
Kyle ShapiroDJr.Nichols
Mike MazzottaDFr.Johnson and Wales
Derek MohneyGJr.Curry

2013-14 Second Team All-Conference

Player's Name
Charlie McGinnisFSr.Suffolk
Marc BiggsFSo.Salve Regina
Cody SarmientoFSo.Johnson and Wales
Beau BurgauDJr.Wentworth
Lawton McCrackenDSr.Wentworth
Lucas SousaDSo.Salve Regina
Jon StaufferDSr.Suffolk
Joey BallmerGFr.Johnson and Wales
Alex LarsonGSo.Nichols

2013-14 All-Conference Honorable Mention

Player's Name
Peter GintoliFSo.Salve Regina
John ScorciaFJr.Salve Regina
Brandon SmolarekGSo.Suffolk
Dave ChiokadzeGSo.Salve Regina

2013-14 All-Rookie Team

Player's Name
Simon LeahyFSuffolk
Jonathan FelteauFSalve Regina
Stefan BrucatoFJohnson and Wales
Mike MazzottaDJohnson and Wales
Rob BelgerDNichols
Joey BallmerGJohnson and Wales

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management