College Hockey:
Ferris State’s Daniels, Alaska’s Kunyk get major awards from WCHA

Last weekend, Ferris State coach Bob Daniels added a WCHA MacNaughton Cup to the two CCHA regular season championships in his resume.

Now the two-time CCHA and national coach of the year can add WCHA coach of the year to his list of accolades after receiving the honor Thursday afternoon before the start of the WCHA playoffs.

Daniels led the Bulldogs to a 20-6-2 league record this season that included a 16-game unbeaten streak from Oct. 19 through Jan. 3.

Alaska senior forward Cody Kunyk was named the WCHA player of the year and WCHA scoring champion after collecting a league-high 34 points on 17 goals and 17 assists.

Lake Superior State freshman forward Alex Globke was named the WCHA rookie of the year after tying Alaska freshman and fellow WCHA All-Rookie Team honoree Marcus Basara with nine goals and 12 assists. Their nine goals led all rookies.

Nanooks sophomore defenseman Colton Parayko was named the WCHA defensive player of the year after scoring four goals and 14 assists with a plus-11 rating in league play.

Alabama-Huntsville’s Chad Brears was named the WCHA outstanding student-athlete of the year by team faculty representatives.

The complete list of awards and all-conference teams:

WCHA Player of the Year: Cody Kunyk, Forward, Senior, Alaska

WCHA Outstanding Student-Athlete of the Year: Chad Brears, Forward, Sophomore, Alabama-Huntsville

WCHA Defensive Player of the Year: Colton Parayko, Defenseman, Sophomore, Alaska

WCHA Rookie of the Year: Alex Globke, Forward, Freshman, Lake Superior State

WCHA Scoring Champion: Cody Kunyk, Forward, Senior, Alaska

WCHA Goaltending Champion: Cole Huggins, Freshman, Goaltender, Minnesota State

WCHA Coach of the Year: Bob Daniels, Ferris State

All-WCHA First Team
Cody Kunyk, Sr, F, Alaska
Matt Bailey, Sr, F, Alaska-Anchorage
Matt Leitner, Jr, F, Minnesota State
Colton Parayko, So, D, Alaska
Zach Palmquist, Jr, D, Minnesota State
CJ Motte, Jr, G, Ferris State

All-WCHA Second Team
Jean-Paul LaFontaine, Jr, F, Minnesota State
Colton Beck, Sr, F, Alaska
Garrett Thompson, Sr, F, Ferris State
Scott Czarnowczan, Sr, D, Ferris State
Kevin Czuczman, Jr, D, Lake Superior State
Cole Huggins, Fr, G, Minnesota State

All-WCHA Third Team
Tyler Morley, So, F, Alaska
Zach Lehrke, Sr, F, Minnesota State
Johnny McInnis, Sr, F, Minnesota State
Matt Prapavessis, Jr, D, Bemidji State
Jason Binkley, Jr, D, Ferris State
Kevin Kapalka, Sr, G, Lake Superior State

All-WCHA Rookie Team
Alex Globke, Fr, F, LSSU
Marcus Basara, Fr, F, Alaska
Kyle Schempp, Fr, F, Ferris
Shane Hanna, Fr, D, Tech
Rusian Pedan, Fr, D, Bemidji
Sean Flanagan, Fr, F, MSU
Cole Huggins, Fr, G, Minnesota State

See the picks by USCHO writers Matt Wellens and Shane Frederick here.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

  • slick_rick

    No disrespect to the Ferris State coach, but Matt Thomas at UAA took a program in crisis and guided them to their first season over .500 in 20 years. With basically the same team that won 4 games last year. He should be the national coach of the year IMO.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management