College Hockey:
Finalists announced for 2014 Sid Watson Award as D-III men’s top player

ECAC Northeast player of the year Josh Obregon from Johnson and Wales is one of eight finalists for the 2014 Sid Watson Award (photo: Stephen Spencer).

The eight finalists for the 2014 Sid Watson Award as the top men’s player in Division III hockey were announced Monday.

All eight players were their respective conference’s players of the year.

There are no finalists from the MASCAC or ECAC West.

Three players are taking part in the D-III Frozen Four this weekend in Lewiston, Maine – St. Norbert goaltender David Jacobson, Wisconsin-Stevens Point forward Garrett Ladd and Geneseo forward Zachary Vit.

This season’s winner will be announced on Thursday during the D-III banquet in Lewiston.

Oswego forward Paul Rodrigues won the 2013 Sid Watson Award.

2014 Sid Watson Award Finalists

Player's Name
Jackson BrewerFJr.TrinityNESCAC
Drew FieldingGJr.St. ThomasMIAC
David JacobsonGJr.St. NorbertNCHA
Garrett LaddFJr.Wisconsin-Stevens PointWIAC
Jamie MurrayGSo.BabsonECAC East
Josh ObregonFSo.Johnson & WalesECAC Northeast
Caleb SudermanDSr.Concordia (Minn.)MIAC
Zachary VitFSr.GeneseoSUNYAC

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management