College Hockey:
Houle, Bolding finalists for 2014 D-III women’s coach of the year award

Plattsburgh coach Kevin Houle looks to win his fifth D-III national coach of the year honor this season (photo: Omar Phillips).

Combined, Plattsburgh’s Kevin Houle and Norwich’s Mark Bolding have won seven of the past eight women’s Division III national coach of the year awards.

And both are nominees again this season.

Ten coaches are up for the award and to be eligible, a coach must have been named their conference’s coach of the year or reached the D-III semifinals.

Houle won the award last season, as well as three straight years from 2006 to 2008. Bolding was honored from 2010 to 2012.

The winner of this year’s award will be announced on Thursday, March 20, at the D-III women’s banquet in Plattsburgh, N.Y., and formally presented at the AHCA convention on Friday May 2, in Naples, Fla.

2014 D-III Women’s Coach of the Year Finalists

Coach's Name
Mark BoldingNorwichNCAA semifinalist
Joe CranstonWisconsin-River FallsNCAA semifinalist
Meghan GillisWilliamsNESCAC coach of the year
Kevin HoulePlattsburghECAC West coach of the year, NCAA semifinalist
Jamie KiviMarianNCHA tri-coach of the year
Kerstin MatthewsSt. AnselmECAC East coach of the year
Rob MorganSt. NorbertNCHA tri-coach of the year
Ann NinnemannWisconsin-Stevens PointWIAC coach of the year
Tom PalkowskiSt. ThomasMIAC coach of the year, NCAA semifinalist
Carisa ZabanLake ForestNCHA tri-coach of the year

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management