College Hockey:
Past winners Gosek, Coghlin headline nominees for 2014 Edward Jeremiah Award

Oswego coach Ed Gosek won the 2007 Edward Jeremiah Award and is a finalist again this season as the Lakers have reached the NCAA D-III semifinals (photo: Angelo Lisuzzo).

Oswego’s Ed Gosek and St. Norbert’s Tim Coghlin are previous winners of the Edward Jeremiah Award for Division III national coach of the year and both are nominees again this year.

Gosek last won the award in 2007, with Coghlin winning a year later.

The 2014 nominees include any coach who won or shared conference coach of the year accolades or any coach whose team is in the D-III Frozen Four.

The winner will be announced during the D-III men’s banquet in Lewiston, Maine, on Thursday, March 20, and formally presented at the AHCA convention on Saturday, May 3, in Naples, Fla.

Wisconsin-Eau Claire’s Matt Loen was the 2013 recipient of the Edward Jeremiah Award.

2014 Edward Jeremiah Award Finalists

Coach's Name
Jeff BoeserSt. ThomasMIAC coach of the year
Chris BrooksWisconsin-Stevens PointNCAA semifinalist
T.J. BrownFramingham StateMASCAC coach of the year
Tim CoghlinSt. NorbertNCAA semifinalist
Steve FreemanWisconsin-River FallsWIAC coach of the year
Ed GosekOswegoNCAA semifinalist
Ken HutchinsSouthern New HampshireNortheast-10 coach of the year
Ryan McKelvieLake ForestNCHA coach of the year
Jamie RiceBabsonECAC East coach of the year
Aaron SaulElmiraECAC West coach of the year
Chris SchultzGeneseoSUNYAC coach of the year, NCAA semifinalist
R.J. TolanWentworthECAC Northeast coach of the year
Jim WardConnecticut CollegeNESCAC coach of the year

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management