College Hockey:
Nebraska-Omaha’s Archibald NCHC’s top player, St. Cloud State’s Motzko tabbed coach of the year

St. Cloud State’s Nic Dowd grabbed two NCHC year-end awards on Thursday – defensive forward of the year and scholar-athlete of the year (photo: Candace Horgan).

The NCHC handed out its year-end awards Thursday night and Nebraska-Omaha’s Josh Archibald, St. Cloud State’s Nic Dowd and Denver’s Joey LaLeggia each walked away with a pair of awards.

Archibald earned player of the year honors, as well as forward of the year, while Dowd was named defensive forward of the year and scholar-athlete of the year and LaLeggia took home defenseman of the year and offensive defenseman of the year.

Colorado College freshman forward Jaccob Slavin is the NCHC rookie of the year and teammate Eamonn McDermott was selected for the sportsmanship award.

Denver senior Sam Brittain, also a finalist for the Mike Richter Award, was picked goaltender of the year.

St. Cloud State’s Bob Motzko was tabbed coach of the year to round out the honors doled out in the first year of NCHC play.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management