College Hockey:
Boston College’s Gaudreau named 2014 Walter Brown Award winner

Johnny Gaudreau keeps adding to his trophy case as on Wednesday, the Boston College junior was named the 2014 Walter Brown Award winner (photo: Melissa Wade).

The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston announced Tuesday that Boston College junior forward Johnny Gaudreau has won the 62nd Walter Brown Award, presented annually to the best American-born college hockey player in New England.

Gaudreau finished first in the final balloting ahead of teammate Bill Arnold and third-place finisher Steve Weinstein of Bentley.

Leading all of Division I in scoring with 32 goals and 37 assists in 37 games, Gaudreau was recently named Hockey East player of the year for the second consecutive season.

In three seasons at Boston College, Gaudreau has registered 164 points.

Gaudreau is the 24th player from Boston College to win the Walter Brown Award since its inception in 1953 and BC coach Jerry York won the award in 1967, associate coach Greg Brown earned the award in 1990 and assistant coach Mike Ayers received the honor in 2003 while playing for New Hampshire.

The 2013 Walter Brown Award winner was BC’s Steven Whitney.

“Johnny is one of those few players in college hockey who brings the crowd to their feet whenever he has the puck,” said York in a news release. “They’re on their feet in anticipation of something special happening.”

“As usual, we had a great field of candidates for the Walter Brown Award, but unlike most years when the balloting for the winner is quite close, this season there was very little debate as to who had turned in the best performance in New England – and in fact, in the country,” added award committee chairman Tim Costello. “That player was Johnny Gaudreau.”

Gaudreau will be formally presented the award at the New England College Hockey Writers’ Dinner on April 16 in Saugus, Mass.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

  • EaglesFan

    Next up, unanimous Hobey!

  • ExiledGopher

    Just curious — what constitutes “New England” for this award? Would Colgate and RPI players be eligilble?

    • Daniel

      Nope, those universities are in New York, New England is a conglomerate of six states, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire, Vermont and Maine. The award is given to the best American born college hockey player who plays college hockey for universities in these six states. So, if a kid from Mass decides to go to Colgate and tear it up, he is still not eligible. Hope that clears things up. Go Eagles!!!!

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management