Men’s Division I NCAA tournament

2016 tournament

Locations, dates:

Selection show: March 20, noon EDT (ESPNU)

Northeast Regional: DCU Center, Worcester, Mass., March 25-26

Midwest Regional: U.S. Bank Arena, Cincinnati, March 25-26

East Regional: Times Union Center, Albany, N.Y., March 26-27

West Regional: Xcel Energy Center, St. Paul, Minn., March 26-27

Frozen Four: Amalie Arena, Tampa, Fla., April 7 and 9

Qualifying teams: Six automatic qualifiers, 10 at-large bids

Format: Teams are split into four regions of four teams each. In the first round, a region’s No. 1 seed meets the region’s No. 4 seed, and No. 2 plays No. 3. Winners play in the regional final for the right to advance to the Frozen Four. All rounds single elimination. More: NCAA Division I men’s tournament selection process

2016 bracket

First round
March 25-26
March 26-27
April 7
April 9

1 Quinnipiac


4 Providence

Boston College

2 St. Cloud State
Ferris State

Boston University

3 North Dakota

Notre Dame


Boston College

Ferris State

North Dakota

Boston College

North Dakota

North Dakota

East Regional
Albany, N.Y.

Northeast Regional
Worcester, Mass.

West Regional
St. Paul, Minn.

Midwest Regional

PDF: Printable bracket

NCAA Division I men’s ice hockey committee

Brian Faison, North Dakota athletic director (chair)

Steve Metcalf, New Hampshire associate athletic director

Tom McGinnis, Minnesota associate athletic director

Jim McLaughlin, Union athletic director

Mel Pearson, Michigan Tech coach

Brian Riley, Army West Point coach

Future sites


East Regional: Dunkin’ Donuts Center, Providence, R.I., March 24-25

West Regional: Scheels Arena, Fargo, N.D., March 24-25

Northeast Regional: Verizon Wireless Arena, Manchester, N.H., March 25-26

Midwest Regional: U.S. Bank Arena, Cincinnati, March 25-26

Frozen Four: United Center, Chicago, April 6 and 8


Frozen Four: Xcel Energy Center, St. Paul, Minn., April 5 and 7

All-time NCAA Division I tournament results

NCAA champions

2016North DakotaQuinnipiacTampa, Fla.
2015ProvidenceBoston UniversityBoston
2012Boston CollegeFerris StateTampa, Fla.
2011Minnesota-DuluthMichiganSt. Paul, Minn.
2010Boston CollegeWisconsinDetroit
2009Boston UniversityMiamiWashington, D.C.
2008Boston CollegeNotre DameDenver
2007Michigan StateBoston CollegeSt. Louis
2006WisconsinBoston CollegeMilwaukee
2005DenverNorth DakotaColumbus, Ohio
2003MinnesotaNew HampshireBuffalo, N.Y.
2002MinnesotaMaineSt. Paul, Minn.
2001Boston CollegeNorth DakotaAlbany, N.Y.
2000North DakotaBoston CollegeProvidence, R.I.
1999MaineNew HampshireAnaheim, Calif.
1998MichiganBoston CollegeBoston
1997North DakotaBoston UniversityMilwaukee
1996MichiganColorado CollegeCincinnati
1995Boston UniversityMaineProvidence, R.I.
1994Lake SuperiorBoston UniversitySt. Paul, Minn.
1993MaineLake SuperiorMilwaukee
1992Lake Superior*WisconsinAlbany, N.Y.
1991Northern MichiganBoston UniversitySt. Paul, Minn.
1989HarvardMinnesotaSt. Paul, Minn.
1988Lake SuperiorSt. LawrenceLake Placid, N.Y.
1987North DakotaMichigan StateDetroit
1986Michigan StateHarvardProvidence, R.I.
1984Bowling GreenMinnesota-DuluthLake Placid, N.Y.
1983WisconsinHarvardGrand Forks, N.D.
1982North DakotaWisconsinProvidence, R.I.
1981WisconsinMinnesotaDuluth, Minn.
1980North DakotaNorthern MichiganProvidence, R.I.
1979MinnesotaNorth DakotaDetroit
1978Boston UniversityBoston CollegeProvidence, R.I.
1976MinnesotaMichigan TechDenver
1975Michigan TechMinnesotaSt. Louis
1974MinnesotaMichigan TechBoston
1972Boston UniversityCornellBoston
1971Boston UniversityMinnesotaSyracuse, N.Y.
1970CornellClarksonLake Placid, N.Y.
1969DenverCornellColorado Springs, Colo.
1968DenverNorth DakotaDuluth, Minn.
1967CornellBoston UniversitySyracuse, N.Y.
1966Michigan StateClarksonMinneapolis
1965Michigan TechBoston CollegeProvidence, R.I.
1963North DakotaDenverChestnut Hill, Mass.
1962Michigan TechClarksonUtica, N.Y.
1961DenverSt. LawrenceDenver
1960DenverMichigan TechBoston
1959North DakotaMichigan StateTroy, N.Y.
1958DenverNorth DakotaMinneapolis
1957Colorado CollegeMichiganColorado Springs, Colo.
1956MichiganMichigan TechColorado Springs, Colo.
1955MichiganColorado CollegeColorado Springs, Colo.
1954RensselaerMinnesotaColorado Springs, Colo.
1953MichiganMinnesotaColorado Springs, Colo.
1952MichiganColorado CollegeColorado Springs, Colo.
1951MichiganBrownColorado Springs, Colo.
1950Colorado CollegeBoston UniversityColorado Springs, Colo.
1949Boston CollegeDartmouthColorado Springs, Colo.
1948MichiganDartmouthColorado Springs, Colo.

* — Participation in tournament vacated by NCAA’s Committee on Infractions

NCAA tournament Most Outstanding Player

YearPlayer, Position, School
2016Drake Caggiula, F, North Dakota
2015Jon Gillies, G, Providence
2014Shayne Gostisbehere, D, Union
2013Andrew Miller, F, Yale
2012Parker Milner, G, Boston College
2011J.T. Brown, F, Minnesota-Duluth
2010Ben Smith, F, Boston College
2009Colby Cohen, D, Boston University
2008Nathan Gerbe, F, Boston College
2007Justin Abdelkader, F, Michigan State
2006Robbie Earl, F, Wisconsin
2005Peter Mannino, G, Denver
2004Adam Berkhoel, G, Denver
2003Thomas Vanek, F, Minnesota
2002Grant Potulny, F, Minnesota
2001Chuck Kobasew, F, Boston College
2000Lee Goren, F, North Dakota
1999Alfie Michaud, G, Maine
1998Marty Turco, G, Michigan
1997Matt Henderson, F, North Dakota
1996Brendan Morrison, F, Michigan
1995Chris O’Sullivan, F, Boston University
1994Sean Tallaire, F, Lake Superior
1993Jim Montgomery, F, Maine
1992Paul Constantin, F, Lake Superior
1991Scott Beattie, F, Northern Michigan
1990Chris Tancill, F, Wisconsin
1989Ted Donato, F, Harvard
1988Bruce Hoffort, G, Lake Superior
1987Tony Hrkac, F, North Dakota
1986Mike Donnelly, F, Michigan State
1985Chris Terreri*, G, Providence
1984Gary Kruzich, G, Bowling Green
1983Marc Behrend, G, Wisconsin
1982Phil Sykes, F, North Dakota
1981Marc Behrend, G, Wisconsin
1980Doug Smail, F, North Dakota
1979Steve Janaszak, G, Minnesota
1978Jack O’Callahan, D, Boston University
1977Julian Baretta, G, Wisconsin
1976Tom Vannelli, F, Minnesota
1975Jim Warden, G, Michigan Tech
1974Brad Shelstad, G, Minnesota
1973Dean Talafous, F, Wisconsin
1972Tim Regan, G, Boston University
1971Dan Brady, G, Boston University
1970Dan Lodboa, D, Cornell
1969Keith Magnuson, D, Denver
1968Gerry Powers, G, Denver
1967Walt Stanowski, D, Cornell
1966Gaye Cooley, G, Michigan State
1965Gary Milroy, F, Michigan Tech
1964Bob Gray, G, Michigan
1963Al McLean, F, North Dakota
1962Lou Angotti, F, Michigan Tech
1961Bill Masterton, F, Denver
1960Lou Angotti-*, F, Michigan TechBob Marquis-*, F, Boston UniversityBarry Urbanski-*, G, Boston University
1959Reg Morelli, F, North Dakota
1958Murray Massier, F, Denver
1957Bob McCusker, F, Colorado College
1956Lorne Howes, G, Michigan
1955Philip Hilton-*, D, Colorado College
1954Abbie Moore, F, Rensselaer
1953John Matchefts, F, Michigan
1952Ken Kinsley-*, G, Colorado College
1951Don Whiston-*, G, Brown
1950Ralph Bevins-*, G, Boston University
1949Dick Desmond-*, G, Dartmouth
1948Joe Riley-*, F, Dartmouth

* — recipient did not play on winning team.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management