BC women complete Eagles sweep of D1 hockey Beanpots

A night after the BC men defeated BU 1-0 in overtime at the TD Garden, the women defeated Northeastern 7-0 for the Beanpot title at Walter Brown Arena. One more Beanpot hockey title is up for grabs with the BC men’s club (ACHA) team in the final versus Northeastern on Wednesday, February 17, at Matthews Arena.

Prior to the game, Harvard alum Angela Ruggiero and Northeastern alum Tina Cardinale Beauchemin were honored as new inductees in the Beanpot Hall of Fame. BC’s Maggie Taverna and BU’s Gina Kearns McLaughlin were honored the prior week.

Beanpot – First Round

The opening games of the Men’s Beanpot on Monday at TD Garden saw wins by Boston College and Boston University versus Harvard and Northeastern respectively. In the Women’s Beanpot on Tuesday at BU’s Walter Brown Arena, wins by Boston College and Northeastern put them into the Final next week. The women’s tournament has the same opening matchups as the men’s, but the games rotate each year between the four schools’ home rinks. Entry for the women’s tournament is free for anyone with a valid ID from one of the participating schools.

Gallery: 3 players make collegiate debuts in BC’s win over PC

Providence sophomore Alex Cromwell and new additions to the Eagles Ian Milosz and Michael Kim made their collegiate debuts on Friday night at Kelley Rink. A tie the following night at Schneider Arena split the regular season series between the two teams with Providence defeating BC during the Florida College Classic.

BNY Mellon Wealth Management