College Hockey:
Lakers Claim Sheraton/Howard Bank Title

Bachusz Named MVP; Davis, Violin Key Championship Win

— Aaron Davis had two points in the third period and netminder Matt Violin made 33 saves to lead Lake Superior State to a 3-1 victory against Dartmouth in the de facto championship game at the Sheraton/Howard Bank Hockey Classic.

Although the tournament featured predetermined matchups, Dartmouth and Lake Superior both won their games Friday, making Saturday’s game the title tilt.

Davis netted the eventual game winner at the 9:43 mark of the third, blasting a shot from between the circles past Big Green goaltender Darren Gastrock.

Just three minutes later, Davis and tournament Most Valuable Player Jeremy Bachusz set up Chris Thompson for his first goal of the season and a two-goal lead.

Dartmouth (6-5-1) had taken a 1-0 lead in the first period when Frank Nardella slipped a puck under a fallen Violin. Mike Turner set up the goal, skating in along the boards before dishing in front.

Lake Superior (6-12-0) evened the score at 1-1 when Jason Nightingale slipped a puck past a screened Gastrock (20 saves).

The all-tournament team consisted of Bachusz (three assists in two games) and Davis (one goal, two assists), Dartmouth’s Jamie Herrington (one goal, one assist), Jeff Miles of Vermont (two goals, one assist), and Merrimack’s Aquino (four goals, one assist) and Nick Parillo (one goal, five assists).

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management