College Hockey:
Wayne State Rallies, Ties Second Straight With SLU

— Wayne State freshman center Nate Higgins scored a power-play goal 2:57 into the third period and the Warriors killed off 43 seconds of five-on-three power play and a major penalty which carried over to overtime to earn a 1-1 tie at St. Lawrence Saturday night.

The two teams tied for the second consecutive night as the 0-0-2 Warriors received a 41-save effort from sophomore goalie Matt Kelly and Kevin Ackley made 21 stops for the Saints, now 1-1-2.

While there was no scoring in the first period, the Saints dominated play, outshooting Wayne State 14-2 and holding the Warriors without a shot until under four minutes remained in the period.

The Saints continued to dominate in the second and finally cashed in when freshman Max Taylor netted his first collegiate goal after being set up in front by defenseman Simon Watson at 11:38.

Higgins was all alone at the front of the net early in the third period and tucked Greg Poupard’s pass between Ackley and the post to tie it up.

The Saints dominated the latter stages of the third and were on a power play when the Warriors were called for a major for hitting from behind. The Saints came up empty on the five-on-three and were scoreless during the 2:07 which carried into overtime, as they went scoreless in ten tries on the power play in the game.

Wayne State also had an overtime power-play chance, but the Saints killed it off.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management