College Hockey:
Michigan Thumps Notre Dame

— T.J. Hensick and Chad Kolark scored two goals each and sixth-ranked Michigan got two or more points from eight different players as the Wolverines handed Notre Dame a 9-2 thumping in front of 7,948 fans at the Allen County War Memorial Coliseum in Fort Wayne, Ind. on Friday night.

Milan Gajic, Kevin Porter, Mike Woodford, Andrew Ebbett and Eric Nystrom scored single goals in the game as Michigan peppered Morgan Cey and Rory Walsh in the Irish goal with 39 shots in the game. The nine goals were the most surrendered by Notre Dame in a game since Jan. 23, 2001 in a 9-0 loss at Michigan.

Jason Paige and Matt Amado scored for the Irish who fall saw their winless streak extended to 14 games (0-12-2). Notre Dame has not won a game since Jan. 2, a 2-1 win versus Rensselaer at the Joyce Center. The Irish are now 5-22-6 overall and 3-17-5 in CCHA play. Michigan improves to 23-7-3 on the year and 20-3-2 in league action.

The win gives Michigan a three-point lead in the race for first in the CCHA as second-place Ohio State dropped a 6-3 decision to Michigan State.

On the night, Michigan out shot the Irish by a 39-19 margin. Cey made 28 saves while giving up eight goals in 50:58 of action. Walsh stopped two of the three shots he faced in the final 9:02 of the game. Al Montoya picked up the win for the Wolverines as he made 14 saves in 51:22. Noah Ruden had three stops in the final 8:38 for Michigan.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management