College Hockey:
BC Wins Shootout To Advance

Three Goals In Third Help Eagles Back

— Boston College scored three unanswered goals in the third period and junior goalie Joe Pearce registered 26 saves to lead the fourth-ranked Eagles in a 3-3 tie against Ferris State in the first round of the Denver Cup in Magness Arena.

BC (9-4-2, 8-2-1 Hockey East) advanced to the championship game of the four-team tournament by way of a 3-2 win in the shootout. Senior Chris Collins and juniors Joe Rooney and Brian Boyle each beat Ferris State goalie Derek MacIntyre (43 saves) in the shootout. Pearce, who made his first start in net this season and first since Mar. 4, 2004, stopped three-of-five Bulldog opportunities in the shootout to propel the Eagles to the championship game.

The Eagles will face Princeton, which beat host Denver 4-1 in first-round action.

Collins scored the Eagles’ first goal of the game – a shorthanded tally – just 38 seconds into the third period. Sophomore Brian O’Hanley added BC’s second goal just 68 seconds later and freshman Andrew Orpik gave BC its first lead, 3-2, on a power-play goal at 6:15.

The Eagles out shot the Bulldogs, 46-29, including a combined 19-3 advantage in the third period and five-minute overtime.

BC was whistled for 12 penalties, including six in the first period. Ferris State (8-6-5, 4-4-4 CCHA) scored one power-play goal in 10 opportunities. The Bulldogs were penalized seven times totaling 14 minutes.

The following is a self-policing forum for discussing views on this story. Comments that are derogatory, make personal attacks, are abusive, or contain profanity or racism will be removed at our discretion. USCHO.com is not responsible for comments posted by users. Please report any inappropriate or offensive comments by clicking the “Flag” link next to that comment in order to alert the moderator.

Please also keep “woofing,” taunting, and otherwise unsportsmanlike behavior to a minimum. Your posts will more than likely be deleted, and worse yet, you reflect badly on yourself, your favorite team and your conference.

North Dakota 2016 National ChampionsBNY Mellon Wealth Management