Gionta, BC Dominate Hockey East Awards

Hockey East honored nine Boston College players, led by Brian Gionta, at its annual banquet. Gionta earned four distinctions: Player of the Year, scoring champion, first-team all-star and winner of the ITECH “Three Stars” Award. Teammate Chuck Kobasew was named Rookie of the Year, a second-team all-star and a member of the all-rookie team.

Providence coach Paul Pooley earned the Bob Kullen Award as coach of the year. Five Friars also received honors.

Eight of the nine Hockey East teams claimed awards, with seven of the nine placing members on the first or second team all-stars.

All four semifinalist coaches spoke, leading to a poignant moment when Maine coach Shawn Walsh took his turn. Walsh has battled cancer since last summer and is slated to begin new treatments at the close of the season.

“For me personally, [Hockey East] has been a people’s league,” he said. His voice breaking, he continued, “It’s been a very special year for me. I want to thank all of you very much. I’ve got to thank everybody for their support.

“I’d like to leave you with this statement. Cancer is so limited. It cannot cripple love. It cannot shatter hope. It cannot corrode faith. It cannot eat away peace. It cannot destroy confidence. It can’t kill friendship. But maybe most importantly of all for all the players out there, it can’t shut out memories.”

The audience responded with a standing ovation.

Hockey East All-Star Team

First Team
Goalie Ty Conklin, New Hampshire, Sr.*+
Defense Bobby Allen, Boston College, Sr.+
Defense Ron Hainsey, UMass-Lowell, So.*
Forward Brian Gionta, Boston College, Sr.*+
Forward Carl Corazzini, Boston University, Sr.
Forward Devin Rask, Providence, So.

* – unanimous selection
+ – repeat selection

Second Team
Goalie Nolan Schaefer, Providence, So.
Defense Jim Fahey, Northeastern, Jr.
Defense Matt Libby, Providence, Sr.
Forward Anthony Aquino, Merrimack, So.
Forward Chuck Kobasew, Boston College, Fr.
Forward Krys Kolanos, Boston College, So.

Honorable Mention
Goalie: Scott Clemmensen (Boston College)
Defensemen: Peter Metcalf (Maine), Rob Scuderi (Boston College)
Forwards: Peter Fregoe (Providence), Darren Haydar (New Hampshire), Graig
Mischler (Northeastern), Brad Rooney (Umass Lowell)

All-Rookie Team
Goalie Joe Exter, Merrimack
Defense J.D. Forrest, Boston College
Defense Regan Kelly, Providence
Forward Ben Eaves, Boston College*
Forward Chuck Kobasew, Boston College*
Forward Laurent Meunier, UMass-Lowell*

* – unanimous selection

KOHO Player of the Year
Brian Gionta, Boston College
Runner-up: Ty Conklin, New Hampshire

Bob Kullen Award – Coach of the Year
Paul Pooley, Providence
Runner-up: Tim Whitehead, UMass Lowell

Rookie of the Year
Chuck Kobasew, Boston College*
Runner-up: Regan Kelly, Providence

ITECH “Three Stars” Award
Brian Gionta, Boston College
Runner-up: Ty Conklin, New Hampshire

Hockey East Scoring Champion
Brian Gionta, Boston College (35 pts)
Runner-up: Devin Rask, Providence (33 pts)

ITECH Goaltending Champion
Ty Conklin, New Hampshire (1.83 GAA)
Runner-up: Scott Clemmensen, Boston College (2.19 GAA)

Old Time Hockey Best Defensive Defenseman
Bobby Allen, Boston College
Runner-up: A.J. Begg, Maine

Best Defensive Forward
Mike Lephart, Boston College
Runners-up: Chris Lynch, Northeastern; Matthias Trattnig, Maine

Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award
Mike Jozefowicz, Northeastern
Runner-up: Scott Clemmensen, Boston College

Charlie Holt Team Sportsmanship Award
University of Maine


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here