Lakers Top Preseason MAAC Poll

Last year’s MAAC Tournament Champions, the Mercyhurst Lakers, were picked to finish first in the preseason MAAC Hockey League Coaches’ Poll. Mercyhurst also placed two players on the preseason All-MAAC first team, one on the second team, and also had the Preseason Goaltender of the Year and one of the two
Preseason Playes of the Year.


Peter Aubry was named the Preseason Goaltender of the Year, while the Lakers’ Louis Goulet and Iona’s Nathan Lutz were named the co-Preseason Players of the Year.

In the coaches’ poll, Mercyhurst received eight of the 11 first place voted to finish first, while Iona received two first place votes to finish second. The other first place vote went to Canisius, which finished third.

Sacred Heart was voted fourth, followed by last year’s preseason favorite and tournament runner-up Quinnipiac. Connecticut, the 2000 MAAC Champion was sixth, Army was seventh and Fairfield was eighth.

Holy Cross finished ninth in the voting, AIC tenth and Bentley was last.

The All-MAAC first team saw Aubry and Goulet as the goaltender and one of the forwards. The other forwards were Rae Metz of Fairfield and Ryan Manitowich of Iona. On defense are Steve Tobio of Bentley and Lutz.

The All-MAAC second team has Adam Tackaberry of Mercyhurst, Ryan Carter of Iona and Martin Paquet of Sacred Heart at forward, Eric Nelson of Connecticut and Les Hrapchak of Sacred Heart on defense. The goaltender is Eddy Ferhi of Sacred Heart.