Roll Honored As Top D-III Coach

George Roll, who led Oswego State to a 25-7-1 record and a berth in the NCAA
championship game for the first time since 1987, has been named the winner of the 2003 Edward Jeremiah Award, given annually to the coach of the year in men’s Division III.

Roll accomplished this feat with a young team that had only two seniors on its roster. Oswego’s season ended with a 2-1 loss to Norwich in that NCAA title game.

Two days later, Roll was named head coach of Clarkson, where he had been
an assistant for eight years prior to taking over the Oswego program in 1996. His seven-year record with Oswego was 119-76-16.

A native of Blue Island, Ill., Roll captained the 1985 Bowling Green hockey team, one year after helping the Falcons to the NCAA championship.

The Edward Jeremiah Award is named in honor of the great Dartmouth head coach and was first presented in 1970. This year’s runner-up was three-time winner Mike McShane of Norwich.

Roll will be honored at a banquet April 26, during the AHCA’s annual convention in Naples, Fla.