Eaves Headlines Hockey East Awards

Boston College junior Patrick Eaves, who led the Eagles to a dramatic finish culminating in a regular-season championship in Hockey East, was presented the 2004-05 CCM Hockey East Player of the Year award on Thursday night at the league’s annual awards banquet.

Eaves, who finished tied for second in league scoring with linemate Ryan Shannon, follows in the footsteps of his older brother, Ben, who captured the award as a junior two seasons ago.

Boston University coach Jack Parker was named the CCM Bob Kullen Award winner as Coach of the Year in Hockey East. After his club struggled to make the playoffs a season ago finishing eighth, the Terriers finished the 2004-05 campaign tied for second place, posting a 15-5-4 league record. It is the fourth time Parker has won the award.

Massachusetts-Lowell goaltender Peter Vetri was somewhat of a surprise selection as Superskills Rookie of the Year. Vetri was part of a league freshman class that included BU’s Chris Bourque and Peter MacArthur, as well as two other top goaltenders in BC’s Cory Schneider and UNH’s Kevin Regan. Still, voters recognized Vetri’s contributions, which included a 14-game unbeaten streak midseason. Vetri is the first River Hawk to win the award since Greg Koehler in 1997.

Rounding out individual awards, Northeastern’s Jason Guerriero, the league’s leading scorer, was presented with the Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award, while teammate Tim Judy received the Old Time Hockey Best Defensive Defenseman Award and UNH’s Preston Callander took home the Best Defensive Forward Award.

The night featured two emotional goodbyes for Hockey East. Recognized was long-time sports information director Ed Carpenter, who will leave BU at the conclusion of the season after nearly three decades on Commonwealth Avenue. Northeastern coach Bruce Crowder, who on Wednesday learned that the school will not be renewing his contract, also addressed the audience, comprised mostly of peers and players, saying that he hopes to be back behind the bench in Hockey East very soon.

CCM Player of the Year
Patrick Eaves, Boston College

CCM / Bob Kullen Coach of the Year
Jack Parker, Boston University

Hockey East Scoring Champion
Jason Guerriero, Northeastern (34 points)

ITECH Goaltending Champion
Matti Kaltiainen, BC (1.81 GAA)

ITECH “Three Stars” Award
Patrick Eaves, Boston College
Ryan Shannon, Boston College

Superskills Hockey Rookie of the Year
Peter Vetri, UMass Lowell

Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award
Jason Guerriero, Northeastern

Charlie Holt Team Sportsmanship Award
Northeastern University

Best Defensive Forward
Preston Callander, New Hampshire

Old Time Hockey Best Defensive Defenseman
Tim Judy, Northeastern University