Miller Resigns As Vermont Women’s Coach

After serving as head coach of the women’s hockey team at the University of Vermont for the past 10 seasons, Dennis Miller has resigned, effective April 6, 2006. Director of athletics Dr. Robert Corran made the announcement.

During the Division III era of Miller’s tenure, the Catamounts advanced to the ECAC Division III Playoffs in back-to-back seasons (1999-00 and 2000-01). In its final year at the D-III level, Vermont set a school record for wins with a 14-8-2 overall mark. In 2001-02, Vermont jumped to the Division I ranks in the ECAC Hockey League and the 2005-06 season marked UVM’s inaugural year as a member of Hockey East.

Vermont’s tenure in D-I has been less successful than its D-III days. Vermont went 18-133-1 overall in its first five seasons at the D-I level and posted a 1-19-1 league record in its first season of Hockey East play.

“I would like to extend sincere thanks to Dennis for his exceptional service and commitment to our women’s hockey program,” stated Corran. “He played a critical role in elevating the program from club status to Division III and most recently to membership in Hockey East. We are very appreciative of all that he has given to his alma mater.”

“I am fortunate to have had the opportunity to usher the program through its early stages of growth. For 10 years I have approached my responsibilities with pride and with passion. It has been a tremendous experience to work with our amazing student-athletes. But it has been all-consuming for me and it has taken a toll. I have compromised my health and neglected family responsibilities. I have missed weddings and funerals and I now have a niece expecting her first child while a nephew prepares to depart for Iraq. It’s time for me to re-connect and re-energize,” stated Miller.

During Miller’s tenure, three Catamounts have been Humanitarian Award nominees — Jenny Agnew ’03, Kami Cote ’05 and Abbey Kaknes ’06. Cote also went on to be named the ECACHL Goalie of the Year in 2004-05. Miller also coached Tiffany Hayes ’01, another ECAC DIII Goaltender of the Year, who became the first Catamount to garner All-America honors following the 2000-01 season.

Current assistant coach Emily McKissock will supervise the program during the search process for Miller’s replacement. A national search for a new head coach will begin immediately.