Adam Hanna Named Sid Watson Award Winner

Three-time All-American goaltender Adam Hanna of St. John’s is the winner of the 2006 Sid Watson Award, presented to the Division III Player of the Year by the nation’s Division III hockey coaches. Hanna, a native of Owatonna, Minn., recorded a goals against average of 2.02 through 26 games this season, and a save percentage of .920. His career numbers exceed his 2005-06 performance, with a 1.76 GAA and a .927 save percentage in 69 career games.



“Adam Hanna is the best player on our team,” said St. John’s head coach John Harrington. “He has been the backbone of three MIAC championships as well as a second-place finish this season.”

Hanna holds career and single-season records for wins, goals against average, save percentage, and shutouts at St. John’s.

“A Dean’s List student, he epitomizes what a ‘student-athlete’ should be,” said Harrington.

Hanna was a second-team All-American in 2004 and a first-team selection this year and in 2005. He was chosen to participate in the first NCAA Skills Challenge at this year’s Division I Frozen Four in Milwaukee, Wis., at the Bradley Center on April 7.

The runner-up for the Sid Watson Award was St. Thomas defenseman John Bottoms. Other finalists were Kyle Jones, Soph. Goaltender, St. Norbert; Gus Katsuras, Sr. Forward, Hamilton; and Ryan Woodward, Sr. Foward, Oswego.

The Sid Watson Award, which was formerly known as the College Division Player of the Year Award, is chosen by the American Hockey Coaches Association and is named in honor of legendary Bowdoin coach, and three-time national coach of the year, Sid Watson.