Parse, Hensick Head Up CCHA All-Conference Teams

Michigan senior forward T.J. Hensick and Nebraska-Omaha senior forward Scott Parse were both named to their third CCHA First-Team All-Conference squads, making them the seventh and eighth players in conference history to earn such recognition.

Hensick also became the third CCHA player and first forward to earn either First- or Second-Team honors in each of his four years, joining former St. Louis defenseman Kent Jackson (1975-78) and former Bowling Green defenseman Ken Morrow (1976-79).

Parse, the 2005-06 CCHA Player of the Year, is the first forward to appear on the First Team in three consecutive seasons since former Michigan forward Brendan Morrison (1995-97).

Hensick, who led the CCHA in conference scoring with 42 points in 28 games, is joined by two Michigan teammates, sophomore defenseman Jack Johnson and senior defenseman Matt Hunwick, on the First Team. Johnson received 10 first-place votes, the most of any player on the ballot, while Hunwick made the First Team for the first time after receiving Second-Team honors in his sophomore and junior years.

Northern Michigan junior forward Mike Santorelli, the CCHA’s leader in regular-season goals with 23, and Notre Dame senior goaltender David Brown, whose 25 wins set an Irish school record, were also selected to the First Team.

Both Miami and Lake Superior have two representatives on the Second Team. Junior forward Nathan Davis, who was fourth in conference scoring with 16-19-35, and classmate Ryan Jones, a member of the 2005-06 Second Team, are joined by Lake Superior junior defenseman Derek A. Smith and senior goaltender Jeff Jakaitis, the conference leader in save percentage at .932.

Completing the squad are Michigan junior forward Kevin Porter, second in the CCHA with 38 points in 28 conference games, and Ohio State senior defenseman Sean Collins, who is making his first appearance on an All-Conference team.

In addition to the 12 players chosen for the First and Second Teams, the next six highest vote-getters, regardless of position, received Honorable Mention recognition.

Listed below are All-Conference selections, with position, name, class, school and then total points and first-place votes in parentheses. Point values for voting were five for a first-place vote, three for second and one for third.

2006-07 CCHA All-Conference Teams

First Team

F T.J. Hensick, SR, Michigan, 51 points (9 firsts)
F Mike Santorelli, JR, Northern Michigan, 51 (9)
F Scott Parse, SR, Nebraska-Omaha, 47 (7)
D Jack Johnson, SO, Michigan, 53 (10)
D Matt Hunwick, SR, Michigan, 45 (6)
G David Brown, SR, Notre Dame, 47 (7)

Second Team

F Nathan Davis, JR, Miami, 43 (6)
F Kevin Porter, JR, Michigan, 32 (3)
F Ryan Jones, JR, Miami, 24 (1)
D Sean Collins, SR, Ohio State, 31 (4)
D Derek A. Smith, JR, Lake Superior, 27 (2)
G Jeff Jakaitis, SR, Lake Superior, 41 (4)

Honorable Mention (next six point totals, regardless of position with first team votes in parentheses): Alec Martinez, SO, D, Miami, (1) 22; Erik Condra, SO, F, Notre Dame, (1) 17; Kyle Greentree, JR, F, Alaska, 17; Andrew Cogliano, SO, F, Michigan, 15; Jeff Zatkoff, SO, G, Miami (1) 13; Noah Babin, SR, D, Notre Dame (1) 12.

Others receiving votes: Forwards — Mark Letestu, FR, Western Michigan, 8; Paul Szczechura, SR, Western Michigan, 8; Bryan Lerg, JR, Michigan State, 6; Curtis Fraser, SR, Alaska, 2; Jonathan Matsumoto, JR, Bowling Green, 2; Justin Abdelkader, SO, Michigan State, 1. Defense — Mitch Ganzak, JR, Miami, 8; Kyle Lawson, FR, Notre Dame, 5; Tyler Eckford, SO, Alaska, 4; Ryan Mahrle, SR, Western Michigan, 3; Jason DeSantis, JR, Ohio State, 2; Juha Uotila, SO, Nebraska-Omaha, 2; Darcy Campbell, JR, Alaska, 1; Daniel Vukovic, JR, Michigan State, 1. Goaltenders — Jeff Lerg, SO, Michigan State, 7.