Regan, Wilson, Sneddon Take Home Major Hockey East Honors

Hockey East announced its 2007-08 All-Star teams, and eight of the 10 Hockey East teams were represented among the selections. Regular season champion New Hampshire led the way as all five of its seniors were chosen, making it one of the most decorated senior classes in Hockey East history.

UNH goaltender and Hockey East Player of the Year Kevin Regan (23-6-1, .934 SV, 2.07 GAA, 18-4-1, .940 SV, 1.83 GAA HEA) was the only unanimous First Team All-Star, but was joined on the top squad by teammates Brad Flaishans (5-17–22, 4-10–14 HEA) and Mike Radja (19-23–42, 14-16–30 HEA). Boston University forwards Bryan Ewing (17-26–43, 13-22–35 HEA) and Pete MacArthur (21-24–45, 14-30–34 HEA) finished 1-2 in Hockey East scoring this season, together leading a resurgent Terrier team, and were subsequently selected as First Team All-Stars, as was BU defenseman Matt Gilroy. Boston College sniper Nathan Gerbe (27-25–52, 14-17–31 HEA) rounded out the First Team.

The Second Team was much more diverse, representing six different teams. Mass.-Lowell forward Kory Falite (18-14–32, 15-10–25 HEA) was the only sophomore All-Star, as he led all players in league play this season with 15 goals. UNH’s Matt Fornataro (18-27–45, 10-17–27 HEA) and Northeastern’s Joe Vitale (12-23–35, 11-22–33 HEA) were the other forwards, while the defensemen were Massachusetts’ Mike Kostka (9-12–21, 8-8–16 HEA), UNH’s Craig Switzer (6-14–20, 4-10–14 HEA) and Matt Taormina (9-18–27, 8-11–19 HEA) of Providence. Maine’s Ben Bishop was chosen as the Second Team’s goaltender, boasting a .923 save percentage in league play, second only to Regan.

The All-Rookie Team was also diverse. Massachusetts had two selections, forward James Marcou (8-24–32, 7-18–25 HEA) and goaltender Paul Dainton (12-14-6, .911 SV, 2.56 GAA), as did Boston University in forward Colin Wilson (12-23–35, 9-19–28 HEA), the league’s Rookie of the Year, and defenseman Kevin Shattenkirk (4-16–20, 4-10–14 HEA). The other members of the All-Rookie team were Maury Edwards 8-11–19, 7-7–14 HEA) of Mass.-Lowell, Joe Whitney (7-38–45, 5-23–28 HEA) of Boston College and James vanRiemsdyk 11-18–29, 9-12–21 HEA) of New Hampshire.

Regan was named the Player of the Year as he dominated all the statistical categories in goaltending in the league. Wilson was named Rookie of the Year, almost finishing in the top five in the league in scoring.

Vermont’s Kevin Sneddon was named the Coach of the Year. In his third season behind the Catamount bench he climbed from sixth place to the third spot this year in the standings.

Joe Charlebois of New Hampshire was named the Best Defensive Defenseman, Boston College’s Matt Greene was named the Best Defensive Forward and Boston University’s Chris Higgins was honored with the Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award.

2007-08 Hockey East Awards

Player of the Year – Kevin Regan, G, Sr., New Hampshire

Rookie of the Year – Colin Wilson, F, Boston University

Coach of the Year – Kevin Sneddon, Vermont

Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award – Chris Higgins, F, Jr., Boston University

Best Defensive Defenseman – Joe Charlebois, Jr., New Hampshire

Best Defensive Forward – Matt Greene, F, Boston College

Turfer Athletic Award – Cherie Hendrickson, F, Sr., Providence

2007-08 Hockey East All-Stars

First Team

G Kevin Regan, Sr., New Hampshire
D Brad Flaishans, Sr., New Hampshire
D Matt Gilroy, Jr., Boston University
F Nathan Gerbe, Jr., Boston College
F Bryan Ewing, Sr., Boston University
F Pete MacArthur, Sr., Boston University
F Mike Radja, Sr., New Hampshire

Second Team

G Ben Bishop, Jr., Maine
D Mike Kostka, Sr., Massachusetts
D Craig Switzer, Sr., New Hampshire
D Matt Taormina, Jr., Providence
F Kory Falite, So., Mass.-Lowell
F Matt Fornataro, Sr., New Hampshire
F Joe Vitale, Sr., Northeastern

Honorable Mention

G Joe Fallon, Vermont
D Bret Tyler, Maine
D Cody Wild, Providence
F Matt Jones, Merrimack
F Jon Rheault, Providence
F Viktor Stalberg, Vermont

2007-08 All-Rookie Team

G Paul Dainton, Massachusetts
D Maury Edwards, Mass.-Lowell
D Kevin Shattenkirk, Boston University
F James Marcou, Massachusetts
F Joe Whitney, Boston College
F James vanRiemsdyk, New Hampshire
F Colin Wilson, Boston University