Hobey Baker Winner Gilroy Leads All-American Teams

Three-time selection Matt Gilroy of Boston University headed up the AHCA/Reebok All-American teams, announced Friday at the Frozen Four.

Boston University led all schools with three selections, including two on the East First Team. Michigan and Notre Dame each had two honorees.

Noteworthy among the selections:

• Only two players had been so honored before. Gilroy, who was named the Hobey Baker Award winner earlier Friday, was a First Team choice this year and last year, and was named to the East Second Team in 2007. Colorado College forward Chad Rau repeated on the West Second Team.

• There are 15 players from the United States, seven from Canada, and two from Sweden.

• Twelve of the 24 selections are seniors and 10 are juniors. There is one sophomore and one freshman.

• The honorees hail from eight states and four Canadian provinces. The leading source is Minnesota, with four native sons.

• Fifteen players participated in the NCAA tournament, and five advanced to the Frozen Four.

• The honorees include all ten finalists for the 2009 Hobey Baker Memorial Award.

The AHCA/Reebok All-American Ice Hockey Teams are sponsored by Reebok, an international leader in hockey equipment, and chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association.

East First Team

G Brad Thiessen, JR, Northeastern (Aldergrove, BC)
D Matt Gilroy, SR, Boston University*# (North Bellemore, NY)
D Zach Miskovic, SR, St. Lawrence (River Forest, IL)
F David McIntyre, JR, Colgate (Pefferlaw, ON)
F Viktor Stalberg, JR, Vermont (Gothenburg, Sweden)
F Colin Wilson, SO, Boston University (Winnipeg, MB)

West First Team

G Alex Stalock, JR, Univ. of Minnesota-Duluth (So. St. Paul, MN)
D Ian Cole, SO, Univ. of Notre Dame (Ann Arbor, MI)
D Jamie McBain, JR, Univ. of Wisconsin (Faribault, MN)
F Louie Caporusso, SO, Univ. of Michigan (Woodbridge, ON)
F Aaron Palushaj, SO, Univ. of Michigan (Northville, MI)
F Ryan Stoa, JR, Univ. of Minnesota (Bloomington, MN)

East Second Team

G Zane Kalemba, JR, Princeton (Saddle Brook, NJ)
D Maury Edwards, SO, UMass-Lowell (Rocky Rapids, AB)
D Kevin Shattenkirk, SO, Boston University (New Rochelle, NY)
F Mark Arcobello, JR, Yale (Milford, CT)
F Jacques Lamoureux, SO, Air Force (Grand Forks, ND)
F James Marcou, SO, Massachusetts (King Park, NY)

West Second Team

G Chad Johnson, SR, Alaska (Calgary, AB)
D Chay Genoway, JR, North Dakota (Morden, MB)
D Erik Gustafsson, SO, Northern Michigan (Kvissleby, Sweden)
F Carter Camper, SO, Miami (Rocky River, OH)
F Erik Condra, SR, Notre Dame (Livonia, MI)
F Chad Rau, SR, Colorado [email protected] (Eden Prairie, MN)

* First Team in 2007-2008
@ Second Team in 2007-2008
# Second Team in 2006-2007


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here