UMass’ Marcou Among Walter Brown Award Candidates for Third Time

National scoring co-leader James Marcou of Massachusetts, Massachusetts-Lowell senior Kory Falite and Yale senior Sean Backman are among the nominees for the Walter Brown Award for the second straight year.

The award is presented to the best American-born college hockey player in New England.

Sixteen players are on the list released by the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston on Monday.

Marcou, a junior who has 40 points in 26 games, is a nominee for the third time.

Eleven of the candidates are from Hockey East, with three from ECAC Hockey and two from Atlantic Hockey. The list is made up of 11 forwards, four defensemen and one goaltender.

Five teams — Boston College, Boston University, Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Yale — each have two nominees.

Besides Marcou, Falite and Backman, the candidates are:

• Nick Bonino, jr., F, Boston University
• Bobby Butler, sr., F, New Hampshire
• Mark Fayne, sr., D, Providence
• Brian Gibbons, jr., F, Boston College
• Nick Johnson, sr., F, Sacred Heart
• Blake Kessel, so., D, New Hampshire
• Eric Lampe, sr., F, Quinnipiac
• Broc Little, jr., F, Yale
• Rob Madore, so., G, Vermont
• Marc Menzione, sr., F, Bentley
• Carl Sneep, sr., D, Boston College
• David Warsofsky, so., D, Boston University
• Casey Wellman, so., F, Massachusetts

The Gridiron Club will announce the finalists and winner of the 58th Walter Brown Award in March, following league playoffs and before the start of the NCAA tournament play.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here