Yale, Cornell Headline ECAC First Team

League champion Yale and second-place Cornell each placed two players on the all-ECAC Hockey League first team announced Tuesday.

Forwards Sean Backman and Broc Little represent the Bulldogs, while defenseman Brendon Nash and goaltender Ben Scrivens carry the Big Red flag on the first team.

Rensselaer forward Chase Polacek and Union defenseman Mike Schreiber also made the first team.

The postseason awards were voted on by league coaches.

Polacek led the ECAC with 1.59 points per game and led the league with 15 power-play goals. Little was tops in the league in both goals (20) and game-winning goals (5). Backman, a four-time all-ECAC member, scored 16 goals in league play for the Bulldogs.

Schreiber led league defensemen with 19 league points. Nash led a Cornell defense that allowed just 43 goals in 22 conference games.

Scrivens won the goaltending championship with a 1.89 goals-against average, .933 save percentage and .705 winning percentage.

The full list of all-conference members follows:

First Team

Forwards: Chase Polacek, Rensselaer; Broc Little, Yale; Sean Backman, Yale.
Defensemen: Mike Schreiber, Union; Brendon Nash, Cornell.
Goaltender: Ben Scrivens, Cornell.

Second Team

Forwards: Mario Valery-Trabucco, Union; David McIntyre, Colgate; Colin Greening, Cornell.
Defensemen: Tom Dignard, Yale; Taylor Fedun, Princeton.
Goaltender: Allen York, Rensselaer.

Third Team

Forwards: Riley Nash, Cornell; Aaron Volpatti, Brown; Travis Vermeulen, St. Lawrence.
Defensemen: Derek Keller, St. Lawrence; Evan Stephens, Dartmouth.
Goaltender: Keith Kincaid, Union.

All-Rookie Team

Forwards: Jerry D’Amigo, Rensselaer; Brandon Pirri, Rensselaer; Louis Leblanc, Harvard.
Defensemen: George Hughes, St. Lawrence; Nick Dagostino, Cornell.
Goaltender: Kincaid.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here